Skip to content

NHLPA to present visor vote results to NHL on June 4

May 27, 2013, 7:40 PM EDT

Alex Ovechkin Getty Images

The National Hockey League Players’ Association will present results of a vote on visor usage to the NHL’s competition committee on Tuesday, June 4, according to RDS’ Renaud Lavoie.

Visor usage was one of the big topics of discussion at March’s general managers meetings.

According to NHLPA executive Mathieu Schneider, the players’ union was looking at making visors mandatory for players entering the league, and was also exploring grandfathering in visor usage for current players.

TVA’s Louis Jean reported the PA would poll its members on the grandfathering idea, and the Globe and Mail’s David Shoalts noted that, if there was enough support, the grandfather rule would go to the competition committee.

The GM meetings occurred just weeks after Rangers defenseman Marc Staal was caught in the eye with a puck during a game against Philadelphia.

Staal, who wasn’t wearing a visor at the time, has since said he should’ve been wearing one and today, acknowledged that he voted in favor of mandatory visor usagewithout a grandfather clause.

Visor use has steadily increased over the past few seasons, with a recent NHLPA report claiming 73 percent of active players wear a shield — up from 34 percent in the 2003-04 season.


Daly: NHL wants mandatory visors

NHLPA: Visor use an ‘individual choice’

Eric, Jordan Staal don visors: ‘It’s just being smarter’

Pens’ Orpik can’t think of ‘valid excuse’ against wearing a visor

  1. DTF31 - May 27, 2013 at 9:04 PM

    Watch the NHL pull an NHL and be like “nah bro its bad if your safe” because now the PA is bringing this to them.

    • hockeyflow33 - May 28, 2013 at 1:38 AM


  2. hockeydon10 - May 28, 2013 at 8:55 AM

    I’ve always wondered why the teams don’t make it mandatory for their players. They’re investing tens of millions in the team and yet they can’t take steps to protect the players on their team?

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1500)
  2. P. Kane (1344)
  3. S. Matthias (1238)
  4. M. Zuccarello (1156)
  5. D. Carcillo (1121)