Skip to content

Patrice Bergeron wins second career Selke

Jun 24, 2014, 7:31 PM EDT

Patrice Bergeron AP

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron won the 2014 Frank J. Selke Trophy on Tuesday, his second such victory in the last three seasons.

The two-way forward continues to distinguish himself as one of the top defensive pivots in the game after gaining mainstream recognition as the Boston Bruins won the Stanley Cup in 2011. Bergeron, 28, also came in second place in Selke voting to Jonathan Toews in 2013.

Speaking of Toews, the Chicago Blackhawks star joined Los Angeles Kings center Anze Kopitar as the other Selke nominees.

Here are the voting results for the award, cutting off at the top 10:

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Patrice Bergeron, BOS 1,283 (112-21-2-2-0)
2. Anze Kopitar, LA 840 (20-66-26-15-3)
3. Jonathan Toews, CHI 624 (2-36-57-20-7)
4. David Backes, STL 415 (3-5-31-59-18)
5. Marian Hossa, CHI 66 (0-5-2-2-15)
6. Ryan O’Reilly, COL 58 (0-0-3-10-13)
7. Tomas Plekanec, MTL 45 (0-0-4-5-10)
8. Joe Pavelski, SJ 32 (0-0-2-3-13)
9. Sean Couturier, PHI 30 (0-1-2-1-10)
10. Ryan Getzlaf, ANA 22 (0-1-1-2-4)

As you can see, Bergeron received a significant portion of the votes. Here’s a list of the Selke winners and second-place finishers since 1990:

Year Winner Runner-up
2014 Patrice Bergeron, Bos. Anze Kopitar, L.A.
2013 Jonathan Toews, Chi. Patrice Bergeron, Bos.
2012 Patrice Bergeron, Bos. David Backes, St.L
2011 Ryan Kesler, Van. Jonathan Toews, Chi.
2010 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Ryan Kesler, Van.
2009 Pavel Datsyuk, Det Mike Richards, Phi.
2008 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. John Madden, N.J.
2007 Rod Brind’Amour, Car. Samuel Pahlsson, Ana.
2006 Rod Brind’Amour, Car. Jere Lehtinen, Dal.
2004 Kris Draper, Det. John Madden, N.J.
2003 Jere Lehtinen, Dal. John Madden, N.J.
2002 Michael Peca, NYI Craig Conroy, Cgy.
2001 John Madden, N.J. Joe Sakic, Col.
2000 Steve Yzerman, Det. Michal Handzus St.L
1999 Jere Lehtinen, Dal. Magnus Arvedson, Ott.
1998 Jere Lehtinen, Dal. Michael Peca, Buf.
1997 Michael Peca, Buf. Peter Forsberg, Col.
1996 Sergei Fedorov, Det. Ron Francis, Pit.
1995 Ron Francis, Pit. Esa Tikkanen, St.L
1994 Sergei Fedorov, Det. Doug Gilmour, Tor.
1993 Doug Gilmour, Tor. Dave Poulin, Bos.
1992 Guy Carbonneau, Mtl. Sergei Fedorov, Det.
1991 Dirk Graham, Chi. Esa Tikkanen, Edm.
1990 Rick Meagher, St.L Guy Carbonneau, Mtl.

  1. lordstanley65 - Jun 24, 2014 at 7:43 PM

    Outstanding! Congrats to the best defensive forward in the league. Very well deserved, whether you’re a B’s fan or not you have to get behind this one!

  2. dbreslow56 - Jun 24, 2014 at 7:55 PM

    Typical East Coast bias! The East Coast Scribes bed time is a bit too early to appreciate Kopitar’s work. It’s Ok, though. I’m sure Anze Kopitar is happy with the trophy he won!!
    I’m not saying Patrice isn’t deserving, but Kopitar is pretty darn good too. Too bad the Playoffs aren’t included in the equation.
    Bergeron, Kopitar, Toews. Can’t go wrong with any of them really.

    • drewsylvania - Jun 24, 2014 at 9:02 PM

      So you’re saying that Bergeron is deserving, yet it’s East Coast bias anyway?

      • obamareallysucks - Jun 24, 2014 at 9:28 PM

        Bruins suck and you are stupid

    • sabatimus - Jun 24, 2014 at 9:02 PM

      I smell a West Coast Bias.

    • sixchr - Jun 24, 2014 at 9:28 PM

      Why is it that any time someone on the east coast wins everyone on the west coast cries bias? I would put money on Kopitar and Doughty winning the Selke and Norris next year because their playoff run really bursted them onto the national scene. It has nothing to do with what coast they’re on, it’s one of the worst excuses in sports. Patrice Bergeron wasn’t in this class nationally until his playoff runs the last few years. Be satisfied with the trophy you won, the others will come.

      • Professor Fate - Jun 25, 2014 at 12:37 PM

        As a long-time Kings fan-

        1) My team sucked for a long time. They hardly ever got individual awards and certainly not the (by far) most-important award of all: The Cup.

        2) Now that the team I root for has won two of the last three Cups I care even less about consolation trophies.

        3) Kopitar and Doughty “bursted” onto the national scene three years ago. The majority of voters for these awards are long asleep when the Kings play.

        4) In a team sport the only trophy that matters is the one handed to the last team standing. Not a single individual trophy winner played in the last (most important) series of the season.

        5) Of all trophies presented to a single player the most important one is the Conn Smythe. Justin Williams earned that one. If a player on your team gets that one chances are very, very good that your team also got the Cup. All the other trophies seem like “Thanks for participating” consolation prizes.

      • Professor Fate - Jun 25, 2014 at 12:48 PM

        4) Except for Moore winning the Masterson.

  3. charastein - Jun 24, 2014 at 8:16 PM

    Bergy is the best.

    Enjoy that NHL cover Habs.

  4. dannymac17 - Jun 24, 2014 at 10:30 PM

    Really surprised Kopitar didnt win it.

    He was just as good.

  5. nightfireop - Jun 25, 2014 at 1:45 AM

    east coast bias.

  6. pastabelly - Jun 25, 2014 at 5:50 AM

    Bergeron had better face off numbers and plus/minus than Kopitar. He probably will again next season when they will actually give this award to Kopitar, who will only win because of west coast whining and because it’s “his turn”. Bergeron and Toews have been the two best all around players in the game the last five seasons.

    • Professor Fate - Jun 25, 2014 at 12:42 PM

      I’ll have no problem with Bergeron or Toews winning the Selke again next year as long as the trophy Kopi lifts is the same one he got this year. Bet Kopi won’t mind, either.

  7. phtjoey - Jun 25, 2014 at 9:54 AM

    An incredibly gifted player. 28 years old and a $3 million hike this year. A coaches dream player.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (2153)
  2. P. Kessel (1333)
  3. M. Richards (1300)
  4. N. Backstrom (1213)
  5. M. Giordano (1023)