Skip to content

Ducks’ Murray takes GM of the Year award

Jun 24, 2014, 8:55 PM EDT

Bob Murray AP

The 2014 GM of the Year Award went to Anaheim Ducks general manager Bob Murray.

Murray is the fifth winner of the newly established trophy for the top executive in the NHL. He joked that he would easily switch places with Los Angeles Kings GM Dean Lombardi, who finished third in voting but whose team happened to win the 2014 Stanley Cup.

Plenty of votes also went to Montreal Canadiens general manager Marc Bergevin, who rounded out the top three finalists for the award.

The Ducks earned the most standings points in the Western Conference and the second-most in the NHL overall with 116. They went 54-20-8. The Kings ousted them in the second round of the postseason, but voting is only based on the regular season.

Murray made some bold moves over the last season-and-change, sending Bobby Ryan out of town and acquiring Mathieu Perreault via trades. He managed to bring back Teemu Selanne, yet his best work might be in developing the Ducks’ promising group of prospects. Kyle Palmieri, John Gibson and Frederik Andersen rank among young players who are already showing promise in the present and may only get better in the future.

Naturally, this award is also based on cumulative work, and hiring Bruce Boudreau in 2011 is clearly paying off.

Here are the voting results:

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd)
1. Bob Murray, ANA 66 (9-6-3)
2. Marc Bergevin, MTL 49 (7-4-2)
3. Dean Lombardi, LA 33 (3-4-6)
4. Stan Bowman, CHI 29 (3-4-2)
5. Jim Nill, DAL 27 (4-0-7)
6. Peter Chiarelli, BOS 23 (2-3-4)
7. Chuck Fletcher, MIN 21 (2-3-2)
8. Steve Yzerman, TB 19 (2-2-3)
9. Ken Holland, DET 14 (1-3-0)
10. Greg Sherman, COL 10 (2-0-0)
11. Glen Sather, NYR 9 (0-2-3)
12. Jarmo Kekalainen, CBJ 8 (0-2-2)
13. Doug Armstrong, STL 6 (0-2-0)
14. Dale Tallon, FLA 1 (0-0-1)

Here are the five all-time winners:

Year Winner Team
2014 Bob Murray Anaheim
2013 Ray Shero Pittsburgh
2012 Doug Armstrong St. Louis
2011 Mike Gillis Vancouver
2010 Don Maloney Phoenix

  1. bencia823 - Jun 24, 2014 at 9:30 PM

    surprising that he still won after giving away Penner, who would have helped a lot in the 7 game loss to the eventual champs. Not a GM of the year move…

    • areaman714 - Jun 24, 2014 at 9:49 PM

      Bzzzzzz. Penner was basically dissed by Getzy and Murray as nicely as possible during the Ducks season ticket holder event last week. That, and the Caps don’t want him back.

      • dannymac17 - Jun 24, 2014 at 10:29 PM

        Getzy and Murray both have won nothing and will continue to win nothing. That franchise will be back to being a train wreck soon enough.

  2. itwasafumble - Jun 24, 2014 at 10:20 PM

    This award should totally belong to Dean Lombardi.

    • kc114 - Jun 25, 2014 at 10:35 AM

      Based on just postseason alone? If that’s the case why even have the regular season?

  3. packerswin96 - Jun 25, 2014 at 12:55 AM

    LA and the Ducks were both expected to contend and they did, the Habs were picked by many “experts” to be a bubble playoff team. The Habs far exceeded most expectations, I do not understand how MB did not win this award?

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1861)
  2. P. Kane (1334)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1300)
  4. M. Richards (1154)
  5. M. Giordano (1137)