Skip to content

Avs ink Jamie McGinn to two-year, $5.9M contract

Jun 19, 2014, 6:32 PM EDT

Colorado Avalanche v Nashville Predators Getty Images

The Colorado Avalanche re-signed a noteworthy forward on Thursday, but it wasn’t Paul Stastny or Ryan O’Reilly. Instead, they signed Jamie McGinn to a two-year contract today.

ESPN’s Pierre LeBrun reports that the contract is worth $5.9 million overall, with McGinn receiving $2.9 million in 2014-15 and $3 million in 2015-16. There’s no word on how this deal affects their chances of signing O’Reilly and/or Stastny since the Avalanche brass are sticking to a vaguely defined budget.

It was an interesting season for McGinn. The 25-year-old scored 19 goals and 38 points in 79 regular season games before managing five points in Colorado’s seven-game series against the Minnesota Wild.

Solid numbers notwithstanding, McGinn found himself in head coach Patrick Roy’s doghouse in late November and was even reportedly shopped around in December. A lot can change between a player and a team in months, so perhaps McGinn found himself back in Colorado’s good graces.

It certainly seems that way, as the winger is locked up through the 2015-16 season.

He seems excited enough about it (and really excited about the Toronto Blue Jays):

  1. sjsharks66 - Jun 19, 2014 at 10:04 PM

    Still can’t believe Wilson let him go for Winnik and Galliardi… Great hockey player with a lot of heart. Not afraid to drop the gloves either. This is a steal for the Avs!

    • 19to77 - Jun 19, 2014 at 10:22 PM

      Speaking of Winnik, the Avs could do worse than picking him up for his defensive utility.

  2. sjsharks66 - Jun 20, 2014 at 12:15 AM

    I liked Winnik, would have rather kept him on the Sharks rathe than Galliardi.

  3. sharksman - Jun 20, 2014 at 12:10 PM

    worst trade ever by wilson

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. D. Stepan (2181)
  2. J. Toews (1605)
  3. L. Couture (1462)
  4. G. Bettman (1412)
  5. C. Wilson (1384)
  1. B. Gionta (1379)
  2. A. Chiasson (1333)
  3. N. Bonino (1279)
  4. E. Fehr (1238)
  5. A. Larsson (1105)