Skip to content

Video: Abdelkader tossed at Worlds, could face second suspension

May 22, 2014, 10:44 AM EDT

Justin Abdelkader could be back in front of the IIHF disciplinary committee in the near future.

The Team USA captain was tossed from Thursday’s quarterfinal tilt against the Czech Republic for charging Vladimir Sobotka early in the second period:

This is Abdelkader’s second major infraction of the tournament. During round-robin play, the Red Wings forward was given a one-game suspension for kneeing Kazakhstan forward Konstantin Pushkaryov, with the disciplinary committee chastising Abdelkader for making “no attempt to play the puck, further widening his stance and initiating knee-to-knee contact with Pushkaryov when the two players met.”

Abdelkader, 26, is carving himself a reputation as a dangerous player. In addition to the IIHF sanctions, he’s also been hit with a suspension from the NHL — during last year’s opening playoff round, he was given a two-game ban for charging then-Ducks defenseman Toni Lydman.

  1. AppealToReason - May 22, 2014 at 10:57 AM

    I’m excited for all the “I’m not that kind of player” talk, when he’s definitely become that kind of player.

    • freneticgarfieldfan - May 22, 2014 at 11:05 AM

      “I just tried to finish my check”

  2. lovac2 - May 22, 2014 at 11:03 AM

    That was really bad. It would be 3-5 games in the NHL for that, unless you are Matt Cooke, in which case it would be life in prison without parole.

  3. bensawesomeness - May 22, 2014 at 11:06 AM

    Never used to be that kind of player – not so clueless to think he’s not there now

    But, most importantly, i’m SHOCKED that there’s a team on which Abby can serve as Captain. There’s nobody better, guys?

    • savoirlaire - May 22, 2014 at 11:17 AM

      Agree completely here…actually I was thinking two things when I saw this replay: 1) bad hit, definitely suspension worthy, no room for that crap anywhere in the game, and 2) this clown is the US captain?

    • pjblake2redwings - May 22, 2014 at 11:24 AM

      he might not be the best scorer but has the best leadership.. and he has been putting the puck in the net alot in the this tourny but besides that I hate to see one of my hometown dudes play stupid with hits like this.

      • 19to77 - May 22, 2014 at 1:27 PM

        Yeah, no. Sorry, not buying the line you’re selling on this one. Leaders don’t spend half the tournament unable to dress because they can’t resist the urge to throw dirty hits. Your leaders are on the ice, not watching from the box.

      • dueman - May 22, 2014 at 2:37 PM

        Currently he is in a 33 way tie for 52nd place in scoring. I guess that the words “a lot” mean something different to you than the rest of the world. I know that you are trying to stick up for him because you are a Red Wings fan, but his play on the ice has shown that he should never have been the team’s captain. As 19to77 said, “Leaders don’t spend half the tournament unable to dress.”

    • stixzidinia - May 22, 2014 at 2:45 PM

      That’s kind of what happens when this tournament gets scheduled while the NHL season is still going. Teams aren’t going to be able to ice their best rosters and ill be forced to make captain selections accordingly. I don’t know why they don’t wait another month or so to start this thing.

      Bad hit.

  4. soccerlad14 - May 22, 2014 at 11:41 AM

    It wasn’t off the puck. He didn’t use an elbow or a stick. Had he not left his feet it shouldn’t even have been a minor. Bad form from the refs here. I don’t care if this is the international game- hockey is a contact sport. Sorry. Perhaps the Czechs would be happier playing tennis or soccer?

    As a ref, you should be loth to insert yourself directly into a game, affecting its outcome and that’s what they did. Those 2 PP goals that came as a result of this 5 minute major call tilted the game towards CR and up until that point the US was looking like they were going to win.

    • nj666 - May 22, 2014 at 11:55 AM

      You’re a fool, stick to watching soccer.

      • soccerlad14 - May 22, 2014 at 11:57 AM

        With a devastating rejoinder like that, I have no choice but to concede your point. Well played, sir. Well played.

      • tved12 - May 22, 2014 at 1:32 PM

        Your argument is an oxymoron. If a soccer fan is calling a hockey play soft, you know it’s got to be pretty dang soft.

    • cfos00 - May 22, 2014 at 12:54 PM

      If you don’t think that’s an illegal hit, I’d love to know what you do consider one. You don’t get to light a player up just because he played a puck a couple seconds beforehand. That was nowhere near on puck. Just because it was on your—and my—team, doesn’t mean it wasn’t a penalty. If you want to be mad at someone, don’t blame the ref, blame the idiot taking a run at someone for no apparent reason.

      To answer you second point, the first duty and most important duty for a ref is that to player safety. Period. Anyone who has ever reffed or taken a reffing course knows that and is taught that prior to getting certified. And not calling something is injecting yourself—lack of making a decision is a decision itself. In other words, not calling something is also directly injecting yourself into the game. So the refs should be making the call based on what happened, not whether they have the stones to or they think it’ll give one team or another a better chance of winning.

      • tved12 - May 22, 2014 at 1:41 PM

        Watch the video again their bub, he shoots the puck less than 1 second before he’s hit. You do realize that checking is a part of the game, right?

        Tell me what you think the penalty is? He’s not moving his feet, he didn’t leave his feet until after the hit, he didn’t use his elbow, principle point of contact isn’t the head, etc…

        If you don’t like seeing good hits then hockey isn’t for you. Maybe you’d enjoy soccer?

      • dueman - May 22, 2014 at 2:49 PM

        Good clean hits are great, but that hit definitely was not clean! Principle point of contact IS the head. That hit is a suspension in the NHL…during international play, with the way their games are called, that hit is just plain idiotic.

      • stixzidinia - May 22, 2014 at 2:53 PM

        tved, seriously….shut up. Abdelkader was at least 10 feet away when the shot was released. At that point he was able to and should adjusted his course toward the play (the puck) and not blasting some guy who was already well out of the play and nowhere near the puck.

        In no cultural version of the game is that hit ok. He flat out launched upwards at the guy’s head. In this case it doesn’t matter where his skates were when he left the ice because where they ended up tells the tale. The only way you end up that high in the air is by launching in that direction. It’s called physics. Look into it.

        And yes, the principle point of contact is the head.

      • tved12 - May 22, 2014 at 3:49 PM

        stixzidinia, your mother sucks cocks in hell…

        Again, this is a contact sport. He was nowhere near “10 feet away” when the shot was released. The time between his contact and when the shot was released was less than 1 second.

        Also, if the principle point of contact is the head then why was it called charging? And there’s no rule about launching after you’ve hit somebody, so what are you whining about? Again, I think you’d prefer soccer, there’s very little contact and few blunt force injuries.

    • chicagobtech - May 22, 2014 at 1:43 PM

      “As a ref, you should be loth to insert yourself directly into a game, affecting its outcome and that’s what they did.”

      The minute the officials step onto the ice, they’re inserted in the game. It’s their job, and it’s indicated by their title. Every time they call a penalty, or they don’t call a penalty, the outcome of the game is affected.

    • flyeredup202 - May 22, 2014 at 2:14 PM

      Charging – A minor or major penalty shall be imposed on a player
      who skates or jumps into, or charges an opponent in any manner.
      Charging shall mean the actions of a player who, as a result of
      distance traveled, shall violently check an opponent in any manner. A
      “charge” may be the result of a check into the boards, into the goal
      frame or in open ice.

      That being said, he didn’t use his elbow or stick and if you look at the ice level view of the hit he was gliding at the time of the hit and did not “jump” into the other player this was not a dirty hit. This was HUGE contact of two guys going the opposite direction. Poor call by the on ice crew and this should not be a suspension. The hit was Violent as listed in the rule but the game is violent, all hits are violent.

  5. dtownbeatdown - May 22, 2014 at 12:11 PM

    Damnnnnnnn… that was a huge hit.

  6. letsgocaps88 - May 22, 2014 at 12:15 PM

    So can anybody explain why brock nelson got a 10 min misconduct for a love tap? That’s the bigger story for me.

  7. soccerlad14 - May 22, 2014 at 12:21 PM

    Well, it’s over. I hope all the people downvoting my comment are now happy that they’ve polished their halos and demonstrated their deep, abiding respect for the game by agreeing with the cashiering of their own player for not very good reasons.

    No medal this year, but we fans kept our honor by coming to the aid of that Czech player who was HIT………while playing hockey!

    • hanspard - May 22, 2014 at 12:43 PM

      Go away.

      • soccerlad14 - May 22, 2014 at 12:59 PM

        Well, eventually. This game [and for the US, this tournament] is over. Will you stay on this forum forever?

        I’m sorry I’m bringing a little knowledge and analytic ability to this board. I forgot we are all here to agree with each other.

        The normal thing would be to either agree with me with some appropriately colorful or witty language. Aside from that would be saying: “No, it’s a 5 minute major for [insert reasons here].” Both of these options would also be the courteous thing to do as well. Rudeness and snark just aren’t cutting it for me.

      • 19to77 - May 22, 2014 at 1:31 PM

        So respond to cfos00’s points, then. He’s not beaking you. He’s directly addressing your argument. You can pretend everyone’s just insulting you as much as you want, but there’s a perfectly courteous and intelligent response to your post sitting up there that you’re conveniently ignoring.

        Oh, and if “I’m sorry I’m bringing a little knowledge and analytic ability to this board.” isn’t snark, nothing is. Don’t be a hypocrite.

  8. wingsdjy - May 22, 2014 at 12:23 PM

    Are those sponsor’s logos on the refs and linesmens backs?

    • paperkid96 - May 22, 2014 at 12:57 PM

      I think they work at a drive in Burger Joint on Ice and can skate your meal out to you.

  9. muckleflugga - May 22, 2014 at 1:01 PM

    it seems to me abdelkader’s over there playing hockey, and representing his country when others are catching rays on a beach somewhere, away from the critical eye of sunday afternoon hockey experts

    mistakes are made in the heat of action, but those pointing accusing fingers are typically the swivel chair hockey heroes who’d never had the grapes to actually strap on the pads and play serious contact hockey –nothing spawned more hockey wisdom than did super slow motion replays

    and if the winter olympics were any indication, team u.s.a could use a little edge –talk about a gutless no name performance– fourth place: warming the heart of true hockey nations the world over … stick to baseball and basketball lmao

    as for sobotka, dirty hit clean hit, turn into the slot head down he’ll meet a meat grinder every-time … even a clean hit, shoulder square and into the chest, would have laid him out

  10. iammrbinky - May 22, 2014 at 1:23 PM

    Incidental contact.

  11. tved12 - May 22, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    I truly don’t understand the outrage. It looked like a good hit. If a guy get’s a puck deep in your zone and is getting ready to shoot from a good angle, then your job is to hit him. Make him think twice before he comes back in your zone.

    To those who think this is so dirty, what part of that hit was illegal? Please be specific, not just, “If you don’t see it you’re a moron…”

    • dueman - May 22, 2014 at 2:58 PM

      Principle point of contact was the head.

  12. muckleflugga - May 22, 2014 at 5:15 PM

    abdelkader had every right to finish his check … his goalie and his coach would argue he was obligated

    if abdelkader failed to finish his check, pursuing a puck to who knows where as suggested, he’d have surrendered the slot to sobotka who was himself, caught tracking the puck for a rebound while heading to ice where it might come

    as a player delivering a hit, abdelkader was vulnerable to an elbow or stick from his opponent in defence, so he brought his arms up … to thine own self be true is a lesson abdelkader knows and sobotka will learn

    while sobotka’s head was contacted, it was not targeted … had his head been targeted, a guy of abdelkader’s strength and stature would have put sobotka on a gurney … the head was caught because sobotka dug-in to wheel through the slot, dropping his body accordingly

    watching pretty passes and pretty shots leaves one watching pretty stars among spinning rafters


Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (2056)
  2. P. Kessel (1515)
  3. M. Richards (1320)
  4. N. Backstrom (1219)
  5. M. Giordano (1131)