Skip to content

Video: Quick whistle nullifies what looked to be Blackhawks’ second goal

May 2, 2014, 10:50 PM EDT

The Chicago Blackhawks appeared to have their second goal of the first period in Game 1 against Minnesota Wild, except the whistle had gone, ending the play. No goal.

Joakim Nordstrom made a move out of the corner at the Wild net and a scramble ensued in the crease. The replay shows the puck was loose when Brandon Bollig jammed the puck past Ilya Bryzgalov and over the goal line. However, the whistle had already gone and the goal was called off.

From the NHL’s Situation Room Blog:

At 17:16 of the first period in the Minnesota Wild/Chicago Blackhawks game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Minnesota net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play prior to the puck crossing the goal line. This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee’s call on the ice stands – no goal Chicago.

  1. rrino - May 2, 2014 at 11:06 PM

    Non story, what’s the point?

  2. prd797 - May 2, 2014 at 11:09 PM

    ‘Intent to blow’ and the ‘delay of game’ penalty are some of the most ridiculous components of the NHL rulebook. They should be eliminated.

    The less discretionary calls available to the officials, the better.

    O’Halloran should’ve gotten his arse in position to track the puck.

  3. comeonnowguys - May 2, 2014 at 11:16 PM

  4. martyks55 - May 3, 2014 at 11:02 AM

    This is another example of a committee that thinks too much. It’s my understanding that the rule is, if the ref meant to blow the whistle, then play is dead, whether or not blowing a whistle would have been a mistake. Okay, so then they look at the replay and see that he should not have meant to blow the whistle and play should have continued, but that doesn’t matter. He meant to make a mistake, so the mistake that wasn’t made takes precedent over… OH MY HEAD HURTS!!!

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (2118)
  2. P. Kessel (1534)
  3. M. Richards (1357)
  4. N. Backstrom (1249)
  5. M. Giordano (1145)