Apr 30, 2014, 11:51 PM EDT
In order to win Game 7 and avoid losing four straight games to fall to the L.A. Kings in this opening-round series, the San Jose Sharks were going to have find ways to beat goalie Jonathan Quick.
Easier said than done, of course. Just ask Patrick Marleau, who was absolutely robbed of what looked to be a sure goal in the second period and with San Jose on a power play looking for another go-ahead marker. The play was reviewed, but there was no goal. Had the play been called a goal, it would surely have come with controversy, considering it appeared Sharks’ forward Joe Pavelski knocked the puck over to Marleau with his right glove.
At 9:28 of the second period in the Los Angeles Kings/San Jose Sharks game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Los Angeles net. The Situation Room confirmed the referee’s call on the ice that Patrick Marleau’s shot was stopped by goaltender Jonathan Quick and that the puck never crossed the Kings’ goal line. No goal San Jose.
- Hitch needs ‘time to reflect’ before making decision on future 11
- Rutherford admits mistakes, but has support of Penguins ownership 4
- Wings’ Kronwall has hearing today for hit on Kucherov 32
- Kucherov isn’t going to ‘cry’ about Kronwall hit 37
- Nothing but Kuznetsov: Caps best Isles in Game 7 26
- Not done yet: Lightning earn Game 7 against Red Wings 10
- WATCH LIVE: Tonight’s Stanley Cup Playoff action 0
- Blues owner ‘disappointed and frustrated,’ but not ready to ‘throw people under the bus’ 31
- Despite ‘step in the right direction,’ do Canucks need to alter core? 16
- Report: Developers file intent to build arena in Seattle suburb 80
- It’s Done: Rangers eliminate Penguins in overtime (110)
- Another Blues campaign ends in disappoint as Wild advance (99)
- Bettman under fire after saying ‘Katy Perry’ chant wasn’t sexist (92)
- Friedman: Penguins need to ‘think about’ trading Malkin (89)
- Okposo blasts ‘idiot’ Wilson after physical outing versus Isles (82)