Apr 5, 2014, 4:14 PM EDT
Typically if a player kicks the puck and it ends up in the back of the net, the goal is disallowed. There are exceptions to that rule though, as Colorado’s Nick Holden demostrated during today’s game against St. Louis.
With the Avalanche already up 2-0 in the second period, Blues goaltender Ryan Miller coughed up a juicy rebound and Holden charged the crease, knocking the puck in with his skate. After a lengthy review, the goal counted:
As touched on at the end of the video, the puck actually hits Blues forward Steve Ott‘s stick before crossing the line.
As NHL.com pointed out, Rule 49.2 states, “A kicked puck that deflects off the stick of any player (excluding the goalkeeper’s stick) shall be ruled a good goal.”
In other words, had Ott not attempted to stop the goal with his stick, Holden’s wouldn’t have ended up with the marker.
- Happy now? Kessel dropped 13 lbs. this summer 18
- Rich Peverley retires from NHL, joins Stars’ front office 10
- Update: Multiple witnesses reportedly subpoenaed in Patrick Kane rape investigation 40
- Jonathan Toews talks about the Patrick Kane situation 28
- Voynov detained by U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement 26
- Ex-‘Hawks goalie Raanta tees off on former club 31
- Report: Hawks feel Kane ‘disrespected’ team, have received trade calls 119
- Hawks’ biggest question: What happens with Patrick Kane? 82
- Hall of Famer Al Arbour passes away 22
- Poll: Who will be San Jose’s next captain? 24
- Report: Hawks feel Kane ‘disrespected’ team, have received trade calls (119)
- Hawks’ biggest question: What happens with Patrick Kane? (82)
- Report: Hawks’ Kane has not been asked to waive his no-move clause (49)
- Lucic jokes about running through Rask ‘like I did (to) another goalie’ (43)
- It’s Chicago Blackhawks day at PHT (41)