Skip to content

Video: Brodeur makes blind glove save in Devils’ win vs. Flyers

Mar 11, 2014, 10:25 PM EST

Martin Brodeur allowed a regrettable goal against the Philadelphia Flyers on Tuesday, but he made up for that in an entertaining way in that eventual 2-1 win by making this blind glove save:

If a head coach ever needed to show a goalie videos to prove that they should keep doing their best even if they are being completely screened, this would have to be one of the top clips.

The 41-year-old is now on a four-game winning streak, giving him a 17-11-4 record on the season. Perhaps the Devils will be glad they kept him beyond reasons that revolve around sentimentality, then?

  1. Stiller43 - Mar 11, 2014 at 10:35 PM

    Awesome save. Any vid of the fleury robbery on kuznetzov?

  2. flyboystransport - Mar 11, 2014 at 11:18 PM

    Wheres the goal that he let in that was disallowed cause the ref was out of position and couldn’t see the puck?

    • mpg44 - Mar 12, 2014 at 12:04 AM

      Never mind Hartnell running him , claiming to have been pushed by a player who was on the ice from falling down. Get over it !

      • ibieiniid - Mar 12, 2014 at 8:12 AM

        weird, I didn’t hear Hartnell say anything while that goal was going in, let alone make an excuse for why it went in.

      • flyboystransport - Mar 12, 2014 at 10:10 AM

        Had nothing to do with the puck going in but volchenkov initiated the contact. Quit playing video games and learn the sport

  3. 950003cups - Mar 12, 2014 at 12:48 AM

    That was a good save. Can’t believe how the Cryers are acting like typical Philly fans. Brodeur gets ran over by Hartnell. Video shows it. It was reviewed even though it’s not reviewable!!! Like the penalty that was changed from the Jumbotron. They had 6 PP chances!!!! 0-6. Two of them were complete BS!! Did they actually expect the refs to shoot the puck in the net for them?

  4. joey4id - Mar 12, 2014 at 8:09 AM

    Not bad for an old man.

  5. flyboystransport - Mar 12, 2014 at 10:33 AM

    Hypocrites. Being a fan of the sport even though I root for the flyers I can be objective if the flyers are wrong. Usually even if the d initiates the contact goalie interference is usually still called. Brodeur never had the puck so the contact had nothing to do with the goal.

    • mpg44 - Mar 12, 2014 at 1:38 PM

      It’s a judgement call buy the refs. They have to look at it and ask “if there was no contact , could the goalie have stopped the shot?” They felt the contact with the goalie impeded his ability to control the puck . Also they have to deal with the whole pushing the goalie with the puck into the net to score . Can’t allow that to not be called either. So in the end the best thing to do is wash it out , no penalties and keep playing.

Featured video

Coaches in and out of the hot seat

Sign up for Fantasy hockey

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. V. Hedman (2930)
  2. P. Datsyuk (2357)
  3. P. Sharp (2352)
  4. P. Dupuis (2191)
  5. J. Harding (2136)
  1. T. Hall (2082)
  2. C. Perry (2015)
  3. D. Krejci (1819)
  4. O. Maatta (1800)
  5. Z. Parise (1780)