Skip to content

Jets win third in a row, continue Oilers’ losing streak

Jan 18, 2014, 4:54 PM EDT

jetsap AP

The Winnipeg Jets and Edmonton Oilers might be in similar situations big picture-wise, but one could be forgiven for believing that they were two teams going in different directions on Saturday.

With Winnipeg’s 3-2 OT win, the Jets have now won three straight games under new (interim?) head coach Paul Maurice. On the other end of the spectrum, the Oilers’ changes haven’t netted impressive results yet, as their losing streak is at four games and they only have two wins since Dec. 28.

The simple and fancy stats seem pretty ugly for the Oilers.

The biggest insult of the day might be that Winnipeg’s young players stepped up a bit more than Edmonton’s much-ballyhooed bunch. Jordan Eberle made it 1-0 and David Perron secured the Oilers an eventual charity point with his 18th goal with just two minutes left in the game, but it was Jacob Trouba (two goals, including the OT-winner) and red-hot rookie forward Mark Scheifele who made the biggest difference.

Here’s video of Trouba’s clinching tally:

Blake Wheeler obviously deserves plenty of credit, as that clip above showed off one of his two assists.

  1. hallsy86 - Jan 18, 2014 at 6:50 PM

    The Oilers know that Connor Mcdavid isn’t draft eligible til next year right?

  2. rudegger - Jan 18, 2014 at 7:42 PM

    how are the Jets and Oilers in similar situations? The Jets look like a hockey team, the Oilers look like a bunch of dudes who randomly showed up for shinny at the rink.

  3. pavelfitzgerald - Jan 18, 2014 at 8:27 PM

    I think you could make the case that both teams have some young talent but are toiling in the bottom 10 of the league.
    I do agree with you tho that Wpg is much more of a “team”. Schifele & Trouba look really good & Wheeler is really emerging with a consistent effort every night. Byfuglien also looks very good up front & useful on the back end of the powerplay.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1793)
  2. P. Kane (1324)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1174)
  4. S. Matthias (1132)
  5. M. Giordano (1033)