Skip to content

Notes on NBC’s Olympic hockey coverage

Dec 19, 2013, 5:09 PM EDT

Goalie Ryan Miller of the United States looks on during warm ups against the ice hockey men's preliminary game between Canada and USA on day 10 of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics at Canada Hockey Place on February 21, 2010 in Vancouver, Canada.
(February 20, 2010 - Source: Harry How/Getty Images North America) Getty Images

Some excerpts from a press release about NBC’s coverage of the upcoming Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia:

NBC will present coverage of the men’s and women’s ice hockey gold medal games live across all time zones;

— The women’s gold medal game airs on Thursday, Feb. 20 at Noon ET/9 am PT;
— The men’s gold medal game airs on Sunday, Feb. 23, with coverage beginning at 6:30 a.m. ET/3:30 a.m. PT;

LIVE MEN’S HOCKEY

NBCSN will present 16 men’s live hockey games through the bronze-medal game, including qualifying, playoff, quarterfinal and semifinal games. Live men’s hockey medal-round coverage begins Tuesday, February 18 at 3 a.m. ET. The network will air three Team USA qualifying-round games, including Team USA vs. Russia on Saturday, February 15 at 7:30 a.m. ET.

LIVE WOMEN’S HOCKEY

NBCSN’s women’s hockey coverage features seven live games through the semifinal round and the bronze medal game. Qualifying-round coverage is highlighted by three Team USA games, including Team USA vs. Canada on Wednesday, February 12 at 7:30 a.m. ET.

Click here for the men’s schedule. Notable games between medal contenders in the preliminary round include Czech Republic-Sweden, United States-Russia, and Finland-Canada.

  1. imleftcoast - Dec 19, 2013 at 5:40 PM

    Great link. 16:00 in what timezone?

    • imleftcoast - Dec 19, 2013 at 9:06 PM

      You can shove that one thumbs down. For everyone else, the gold medal game is Sunday, Feb 23 at 7am EST / 4am Pacific.

      • blackhawksdynasty - Dec 19, 2013 at 11:24 PM

        Thanks for doing the dirty work for us

  2. shamu1the1whale - Dec 19, 2013 at 10:10 PM

    Them’s some early mornin’ times! Looks like I’m gonna be using my alarm clock big time this Olympics!

    • blackhawksdynasty - Dec 19, 2013 at 11:21 PM

      Good for you!

      This old brain doesn’t function that early these days.

      Thank god for DVR, but I’ll have to play the “avoid ESPN & NHL” game every game day.

      Well, at least I don’t have to record it on my VCR!

  3. greatmiamisportsmind - Dec 20, 2013 at 12:20 AM

    We all know the US is going to sweep the golds

Featured video

Bettman hears the boos in Philly
Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. S. Crosby (1744)
  2. L. Stempniak (1602)
  3. R. O'Reilly (1507)
  4. C. Franson (1457)
  5. D. Roy (1401)
  1. D. Booth (1313)
  2. A. Rome (1261)
  3. M. Zuccarello (1122)
  4. C. Kreider (1113)
  5. J. Demers (1049)