Dec 11, 2013, 3:30 PM EDT
In making his decision, NHL disciplinarian Brendan Shanahan ruled that Cowen drove his left shoulder into Girgensons’ head, making it “the main point of contact.”
“This is not a full body check in which contact to the head was unavoidable,” said Shanahan.
Mitigating factors included Girgensons not being hurt and Cowen having no disciplinary history.
Cowen did not receive a penalty on the play. The 22-year-old will forfeit $31,794.88 of salary, which will go to the Players’ Emergency Assistance Fund.
- Blackhawks’ Sharp: ‘We knew we had to get two points’ 5
- Video: Brian Engblom takes a puck to the head 9
- Flames jump back into third in Pacific, beat Preds 6
- Letang concussed, Penguins will dress five defensemen 17
- NHL on NBCSN: Sharks desperate for wins, Penguins seek definitive end to slump 7
- Video: Bolts lose Garrison, Paquette in loss to Wings 4
- Bruins ruin Lundqvist’s return 28
- Video: Letang hospitalized after Doan hit (Update) 48
- Bruins chalk Rask’s absence up to dehydration (Update) 4
- Happy returns: Datsyuk plays for Detroit 2