Skip to content

Video: Jesse Winchester elbows Chris Kelly

Nov 7, 2013, 8:25 PM EDT

Florida Panthers tough guy Jesse Winchester delivered a questionable elbow to Boston Bruins center Chris Kelly on Thursday, inspiring Gregory Campbell to fight him on his next shift.

Here’s video of the hit:

Winchester, 30, didn’t receive a penalty for the hit. He hasn’t been suspended in his career, according to the Hockey News’ records.

  1. matt14gg - Nov 7, 2013 at 8:36 PM

    It’s a weird hit, cuz it looks completely unnecessary, but Winchester just jumps up and chicken wings Kelly in the head. I think Kelly ended up being ok, but the hit is suspendable because it’s a clear head shot, with no real intent to do anything else. Not really sure what Winchester was thinking there. Maybe he’s got an issue with Kelly, cuz otherwise it made no sense.

    • shaundre93 - Nov 7, 2013 at 8:45 PM

      Its funny you say that, they mentioned the two were teammates in Ottawa. Maybe some bad blood? Wouldn’t mind seeing a game or two for it, at least a talking to. I’m just upset there wasn’t a call during the game. Refs stopped to talk about it after and apparently came to the conclusion it wasn’t penalty worthy. Not happy about that

      • matt14gg - Nov 7, 2013 at 8:50 PM

        Yeah, stupidly I just replied the same thing (about them being teammates). Looks like people are already on top of that. It’s funny, the hit is just so out of the blue that even the refs didn’t catch it. Often times a bad hit happens in the middle of the action and the refs can kind of anticipate something is coming and watch for it. With this hit I think it caught everyone by surprise or they just missed it completely.

  2. sabatimus - Nov 7, 2013 at 8:38 PM

    5 games.

    • sabatimus - Nov 8, 2013 at 12:12 AM


  3. matt14gg - Nov 7, 2013 at 8:46 PM

    It’s interesting, he and Kelly were teammates for a few years with the Senators. I’m guessing this was something personal.

  4. 7mantel - Nov 7, 2013 at 8:53 PM

    How could all 4 officials miss that ! Maybe they should get a phone call !

    • dentals1 - Nov 7, 2013 at 9:01 PM

      Right before this they missed an offsides where the puck was easily a foot over the blue line, so this shouldn’t be a surprise.

      • hockeyflow33 - Nov 8, 2013 at 1:46 AM

        Refs call penalties
        Linesmen call offsides

        Please learn the rules

      • dentals1 - Nov 8, 2013 at 9:06 AM

        When a play is that egregiously offsides the ref can blow the whistle. Especially when the linesman are out of position like they were on that play. A ref can call anything if they see fit. So you are saying that a ref can’t call too many men on the ice if they see it because that is the one penalty linesman are able to call? You learn the rules douche.

      • hockeyflow33 - Nov 8, 2013 at 12:00 PM

        Why would a linesman be out of position in a 4 man system?

      • dentals1 - Nov 8, 2013 at 1:21 PM

        Neither one was on the blue line. Did you watch the game? They replayed it a couple of times and even commented on it.

    • hockeyflow33 - Nov 8, 2013 at 1:46 AM

      Well only two can call a penalty on this so maybe you should understand what each official does.

      • joey4id - Nov 8, 2013 at 8:57 AM

        Flow33, lean the rules. Read @muckleflugga below. :-) LMAO!

  5. scottybcboy - Nov 7, 2013 at 10:06 PM

    Bad, bad hit. Considering he is a first time offender I suspect he will get 3-5 games.

    • dueman - Nov 8, 2013 at 12:25 AM

      Agreed 3-5. This is the kind of hit that would get the guy 10 if he was a repeat offender. It was literally a “flying elbow” to the face, but I’m sure some dummy will try to make up an excuse for it.

  6. sabatimus - Nov 7, 2013 at 10:35 PM

    Pretty uneven game by the B’s. 3rd period was good after they scored the 2nd goal.

  7. muckleflugga - Nov 8, 2013 at 3:04 AM

    linesman can also call penalties, end of…

  8. muckleflugga - Nov 8, 2013 at 3:09 AM

    the rules…

    32.3 General Duties – The Linesmen are generally responsible for calling violations of off-side (Rule 83) and icing (Rule 81). They may stop play for a variety of other situations as noted in sections 32.4 and 32.5 below.
    32.4 Reporting to Referee – The Linesman shall give to the Referees his interpretation of any incident that may have taken place during the game.
    The Linesman may stop play and report what he witnessed to the Referees when:
    (i) There are too many men on the ice

    Rule 74
    (ii) Articles are thrown on the ice from the players’ bench or penalty bench

    Rule 75
    (iii) When team personnel interfere with a game official

    Rule 39
    (iv) When a player who has lost or broken his stick receives one illegally

    Rule 10
    The Linesman must report upon completion of play, any circumstances pertaining to:
    (i) Major penalties

    Rule 20
    (ii) Match penalties

    Rule 21
    (iii) Misconduct penalties

    Rule 22
    (iv) Game Misconduct penalties

    Rule 23
    (v) Abuse of Officials

    Rule 39
    (vi) Physical Abuse of Officials

    Rule 40
    (vii) Unsportsmanlike Conduct

    Rule 75
    (viii) Double-minor penalty when it is apparent that an injury has resulted from a high-stick that has gone undetected by the Referees

    Rule 60
    Should a Linesman witness a foul (above) committed by an attacking player or goalkeeper (undetected by the Referees) prior to the attacking team scoring a goal, the Linesman shall report what he witnessed to the Referees, the goal shall be disallowed and the appropriate penalty assessed.

    • hockeyflow33 - Nov 8, 2013 at 11:59 AM

      Work a game as a lineman and call a penalty, see how many more games you get to work. I know what’s in the rulebook but you’ll never see a lineman call one.

      • dentals1 - Nov 8, 2013 at 1:19 PM

        Really? Kevin Collins made a career of it.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1698)
  2. P. Kane (1317)
  3. S. Matthias (1179)
  4. D. Carcillo (1067)
  5. C. Ehrhoff (1045)