Skip to content

Canucks haven’t lost in regulation at Phoenix since 2009

Nov 5, 2013, 12:49 PM EDT

Canucks score Getty Images

Coming off a dominant 4-0 victory over Toronto Saturday, the Vancouver Canucks will look to continue their dominance in the Arizona desert tonight versus the streaking Coyotes.

You have to go all the way back to March 21, 2009, for the last regulation loss Vancouver suffered at Arena. The first star of that game was Ilya Bryzgalov. Yes, a few things have happened since then.

These aren’t the same old Coyotes though. Long known for an inability to score, Phoenix (10-3-2) currently ranks fourth in goals per game (3.27) while boasting three of the highest-scoring defensemen in the NHL: Oliver Ekman-Larsson (3G, 8A), Keith Yandle (1G, 10A), and Derek Morris (4G, 6A).

The Coyotes have also won four straight, including a 3-2 shootout victory Saturday in San Jose.

But while tonight is technically a home game for Phoenix, expect to hear plenty of support for the visitors. The Canucks always have their share of vacationing fans in the stands when they play in Glendale.

Oh, and also, the last time these two teams played in Arizona, this happened:

Related: The Coyotes would like everyone to know how well they’re playing

  1. davebabychreturns - Nov 5, 2013 at 1:46 PM

    I was really hoping the Coyotes were going to lose their identity this year and leave a strong group of four teams in the Pacific, but no such luck.. you can’t count this team out of anything, ever.

    Seriously, the Pacific division is nuts so far this year – the fifth place team would be fifth in the entire Eastern Conference.

  2. muckleflugga - Nov 5, 2013 at 2:24 PM

    looks like a good night to catch-up on my growing backlog of lawrence welk reruns…

  3. canucks30 - Nov 5, 2013 at 3:21 PM


    Phoenix has a NHL team?

    • thailer35 - Nov 5, 2013 at 6:06 PM

      The Vancouver’s diving team has a hockey problem.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1889)
  2. P. Kane (1694)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1382)
  4. M. Richards (1376)
  5. N. Backstrom (1234)