Skip to content

No suspension for Dubinsky after Koivu hit

Oct 28, 2013, 10:47 AM EDT

Columbus forward Brandon Dubinsky won’t face any supplemental discipline for his hit on Saku Koivu during Sunday’s 4-3 loss to Anaheim, TSN’s Bob McKenzie reports.

McKenzie said that, while the NHL did review the hit — Dubinsky was given a five-minute major and game misconduct, Koivu left and didn’t return — the league ruled against supplementary discipline, explaining the hit was “body on body” with incidental head contact.

Here’s the video:

Bruce Boudreau told reporters that Koivu seemed “OK” after the game, but also noted the veteran Finn was temporarily knocked out.

Ducks defenseman Cam Fowler was irate with the collision, saying the Dubinsky hit was the type “we need to try and stop and prevent as much as we can.”

Dubinsky, 27, argued in his own defense.

“I thought my shoulder and elbow were tucked,” Dubinsky told the Columbus Dispatch. “I went out there to make a hit not hurt somebody.

“I’m not a dirty player.”

  1. newjerseydevilsfanpuckcollection - Oct 28, 2013 at 10:56 AM

    I think this is the right call by the NHL.

    Dubinsky delivered a clean hit, with a bad result of Koivu having his head down and following the puck with his eyes rather than seeing the check coming.

    Clearly it was body on body contact, no raising of the elbow (until after the check was completed).

  2. elvispocomo - Oct 28, 2013 at 11:01 AM

    He does hit through the body, his skates stay on the ice and his elbow is tucked in until the contact is made (and the then pushes it out). If they wanted to look at it they’d have to check the lateness (looks like half a second to me, 46.4-45.9 on the score clock between pass and hit), and if the elbow did anything (I don’t think it did), otherwise there’s nothing I see that’d be worth y of supplemental discipline.

    • elvispocomo - Oct 30, 2013 at 3:04 PM

      What was I reading on the score clock numbers? Came back to check up on what I used for another forum, and it looks like 40.6-40.1.

  3. khudobinawesome - Oct 28, 2013 at 11:02 AM

    Injuries happen in sports. It’s impossible to prevent them….

    Unless you pad them all up to look like the Michelin Man!!!

  4. 2qswing - Oct 28, 2013 at 11:06 AM

    OK … now who is going to suspend the idiot(s) who called a 5-minute major (ducks scored once) and game misconduct, thus deciding the game?

    • 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Oct 28, 2013 at 11:39 AM

      Yeah that’s ridiculous. The NHL sets a terrible example when it suspends based (in part) on injuries. Now referees feel if the result of a hit looks bad they need to hand out a penalty.

      You get the sense that no person on the ice even knows what’s acceptable and what’s not anymore, and the blame for that is squarely on this joke-of-a-league’s head.

      • elvispocomo - Oct 28, 2013 at 11:49 AM

        In fairness to the refs on this, they’re making the call real time. I can see how with his elbow extending out afterwards and the timing that it looks like an illegal hit and deserved more than a 2. Turns out it wasn’t, but that’s the way things go.

      • 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Oct 28, 2013 at 12:10 PM

        My feeling is that a lot of the times the refs make this mistake it’s not because they missed the call in real time but because they feel their hands are tied when a hit is particularly devastating. I remember a guy getting thrown out in a recent WJC who had the ref tell him the hit was actually ok.

        Point is this seems to be more of a top-down problem than an on-ice one.

      • ibieiniid - Oct 28, 2013 at 12:49 PM

        i’m with Elvis. i woulda done the same. I had to watch the slow-mo, close up replay 3 times (the video was a bit jumpy too) to call that clean. the main camera view at full speed looked dirty.

      • elvispocomo - Oct 28, 2013 at 1:20 PM

        Yup, that was my thought too, you can see the leg come up and the elbow come out so there’s lots of question real time if he charged or elbowed him. That’s not to say the refs don’t over-penalize sometimes and just let things go others, but I can see why they’d make this call.

    • navigatorgrim - Oct 28, 2013 at 12:08 PM

      Did they call it an elbow? No. They called an interference because the hit was late. When you slow it down and look at the clock tick maybe it isnt a full second, but calling it in real time, it easily looks late. Lumbus fans were crying all night about the non-calls while they players take dives(See Foligno jump off his skates to try to draw a hook). if theres anyone to blame its Bob for a couple soft goals.

      • elvispocomo - Oct 28, 2013 at 1:22 PM

        Fair enough point about the call on the ice, the timing was something I looked at too to see if it was legal or not. It wasn’t bad in review, maybe half a second, but it’s tough to tell real time.

    • areaman714 - Oct 29, 2013 at 4:12 PM

      Good teams win games despite bad calls. Middling to bad teams don’t. The game was close regardless of the calls. The ducks played a mundane game. The CBJ’s did not take advantage, hence their record.

  5. storminator16 - Oct 28, 2013 at 11:21 AM

    This was a very good hit with an unfortunate result. Fortunately, Koivu is o.k. Thanks for the update, Dr. Bruce Boudreau. Still, why did Dubinsky went for that hit in his own zone?

    Unfortunately, I can also see why the refs threw Dubinsky out of the game. They were probably worried that Dubinsky would have been targeted by the Ducks and subsequently a worse situation could happen. However, the Ducks really don’t have anyone on their roster who would have done something to “cross the line” (whatever that line is nowadays…thanks, Todd Bertuzzi and Marc Crawford). Bad call by the refs.

    I had more of a problem with that Chara on Wingels hit from last week but whatever.

    • elvispocomo - Oct 28, 2013 at 11:53 AM

      I get the argument of taking a player out of the game to prevent further issues, but to do that when the player did nothing wrong? If that really was their only reason to escalate the penalty then they did it wrong.

      I’d be ok with them making the wrong call in real time and applying the penalty they thought was warranted, but to add more just because they want to prevent a volatile situation? There are other ways to do that.

      • storminator16 - Oct 28, 2013 at 12:39 PM

        I 100% agree with you. The refs got this wrong in every facet. I’m not arguing either way.

  6. joey4id - Oct 28, 2013 at 1:43 PM

    This seems to be a border line legal hit. Dubinsky does keep his elbow in. However, he propels himself up and into Koivu, and his feet definitely leave the ice. If he doesn’t propel himself into the check then there is no or less contact to the head. Koivu’s head was down though.

  7. greenfalcon8863 - Oct 28, 2013 at 10:08 PM

    The refs did not make a call on the ice. There was no penalty on the play until after a scrum in front of the net stopped the play about 20 seconds after the hit. Neither ref saw the hit to call it. So a linesman actually made the call. Pretty drastic call based upon a man that is trained to watch the puck.

  8. 2qswing - Oct 29, 2013 at 4:23 PM

    Now Jarmo and JD you need to get that ridiculous game misconduct removed from his record.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1789)
  2. P. Kane (1427)
  3. M. Richards (1293)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1283)
  5. N. Backstrom (1140)