Skip to content

Florida confirms Thomas will start season opener

Oct 2, 2013, 5:42 PM EDT

TimThomas Getty Images

After days of hints the Florida Panthers made it official on Wednesday, confirming that Tim Thomas would start in goal when they open their campaign in Dallas.

“Tim Thomas will [get the start]. For my first and last goalie announcement of the year, I usually don’t go down that line,” head coach Kevin Dineen told the team website. “But Timmy is going to get opening night and very pleased with the way he has played over the last couple of weeks in practice and in the games that he came in.

“He’s earned that net on opening night.”

Thomas’ last start was on Apr. 25, 2012 — a 2-1 OT loss to Washington in Game 7 of the opening round of the playoffs — meaning it’ll be one years, five months and eight days between games.

Needless to say, he’s excited about getting back in net.

“I’m very happy,” Thomas said. “I’m looking forward to helping get this team off to a good start.”


  1. amityvillefun - Oct 2, 2013 at 6:26 PM

    Good luck Timmayyyy.

    Underneath his hockey gear, he wears Captain America Underroos….every damn night.

  2. bigbadbruins77 - Oct 2, 2013 at 6:39 PM

    Seguin vs timmay! That will be fun.

  3. joeyg97 - Oct 2, 2013 at 6:41 PM

    Yaaa timmay!!!

  4. bhawk91 - Oct 2, 2013 at 8:15 PM

    Milbury’s take on Thomas just now was spot on… he basically said this guy had one of the best single season’s as a goaltender in NHL history and made it to the top of the game, had an implosion, took a year off, and comes back. Kind of a head scratcher.

    • hockeyflow33 - Oct 3, 2013 at 1:02 AM

      How is it an implosion if the guy decides to take a year off?

  5. Moop - Oct 2, 2013 at 11:12 PM

    This will be one of the most interesting stories to follow in the NHL this year. If Thomas plays the way he did the years he won the Vezina, he could turn Florida into a playoff contending team.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (1862)
  2. P. Kessel (1429)
  3. M. Richards (1220)
  4. N. Backstrom (1131)
  5. M. Giordano (1087)