Skip to content

Video: Blues GM says Pietrangelo ‘a potential Norris Trophy’ winner

Sep 13, 2013, 7:15 PM EDT

The negotiations are done. The contract is signed.

After a lengthy back-and-forth negotiation process, the St. Louis Blues finally locked up restricted free agent defenseman Alex Pietrangelo with a seven-year, $45.5 contract that was announced Friday.

“He’s the one player that has that quality to be an elite player in our game at his position,” Blues general manager Doug Armstrong told reporters.

“I view him as a potential Norris Trophy winner. I view him as someone that can dominate a game.”

  1. scaarepittschamberofcommerce - Sep 13, 2013 at 9:08 PM

    and he is correct! kid can and by all means should dominate through this contract.

  2. herc883 - Sep 14, 2013 at 12:30 AM

    Yes. A legit contender. Someone please remind me how Subban won the Norris. It’s bad enough he was nominated.

    • allday420ap - Sep 14, 2013 at 9:26 AM

      should have been Suter this year, piet’s got a shot in his future.

      • allday420ap - Sep 14, 2013 at 9:36 AM

        pie triangle

    • lordfletcher - Sep 14, 2013 at 9:45 AM

      Suter should have won, and to me personally it wasn’t close… but Subban deserved to be nominated as it was it was a coin toss for who should have been 2nd place in the voting.

      Subban is a HELL of a player, just not a better DEFENSEman than Suter

      • lostpuppysyndrome - Sep 14, 2013 at 11:51 AM

        That Suter snub still burns you up, eh? 😉

      • lordfletcher - Sep 14, 2013 at 12:39 PM

        HAHA. 😀

        I’m not bad about it, I just don’t like the direction the NHL is going with giving out some of their awards.

        the ability to score, doesn’t make you a better defender. Tho, there is a loop hole in the definition of the award.

        “defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position”

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1825)
  2. P. Kane (1510)
  3. M. Richards (1325)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1316)
  5. N. Backstrom (1182)