Skip to content

Chicago signs ’12 first-rounder Teravainen

Aug 22, 2013, 5:18 PM EDT

TeuvoTeravainen Getty Images

The Blackhawks have agreed to a three-year, entry-level deal with Teuvo Teravainen, the club announced on Thursday.

Teravainen, 18, was Chicago’s first-round pick (18th overall) at the 2012 NHL Entry Draft and spent last season with Jokerit of Finland’s SM-liiga.

It was with Jokerit where Teravainen’s stock skyrocketed. Despite being one of the youngest players in the league, he finished fifth on the team in scoring (31 points in 44 games) and finished fourth on the team in goals, with 13.

In August, ‘Hawks GM Stan Bowman raved about Teravainen’s potential.

“We’re really looking forward to having him in a Blackhawks uniform at some point because he’s a special player,” Bowman said, as per ESPN Chicago. “I think he’s going to electrify fans for a long time.

“Teuvo, I think is going to be a superb talent when he gets here.”

Teravainen was expected to return to Jokerit for the 2013-14 season, then make his way over to North America the following year. It remains to be see if today’s signing changes that plan any.

  1. pone27 - Aug 22, 2013 at 6:40 PM

    I remember hearing this kid should have been drafted sooner. He just needs to add some size to his frame.

    Has a very solid shot, smart with the puck, good hands.

    Not sure if he will fit this season, but he will within the next 2 years give or take.

    He has the potential to help fill our questions at center.

    • endusersolutions2013 - Aug 22, 2013 at 7:20 PM

      May not be so “needy” at center. Pirri almost certainly will be brought up this year. Hayes and Saad have played some center, Drew LeBlanc will also get a look, but will most likely spend time in the AHL 1st.

  2. rosloe62 - Aug 22, 2013 at 6:47 PM

    The rich get richer!

  3. hazlydose - Aug 23, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    I wanted Pittsburgh to take him with the pick they got in the J. Staal trade.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1741)
  2. P. Kane (1286)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1139)
  4. S. Matthias (1100)
  5. M. Giordano (1001)