Skip to content

Scott Stevens will receive CANY’s hockey achievement award

Aug 5, 2013, 9:06 PM EDT

scottstevensgetty Getty Images

It’s been a big summer for former New Jersey Devils star defensemen. First, Scott Niedermayer was announced as a member of the 2013 Hockey Hall of Fame class; now fellow blueline great Scott Stevens appears set for accolades of his own.

The Canadian Association of New York will honor him at its 34th Annual Hockey Achievement Dinner on Sept. 9, according to the Devils’ Web site.

While that award might not carry the name recognition of a Hall of Fame nod, previous winners carry immense prestige. That list includes Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Gordie Howe, Mark Messier and more.

Attending the event is costly – tickets start at $600 – but the organization has charitable aims. Here’s more on the event:

CANY’s Hockey Achievement Award Dinner is one of the key fundraising events for the CANY Foundation which supports New York based charities. They include Ice Hockey in Harlem, an innovative hockey program for less fortunate youth that focuses on providing educational opportunities. “We are particularly proud of the Dinner’s charitable focus,” says CANY President, Dean Keyworth. ”We support some great charities that resonate with our members like Ice Hockey in Harlem and the Terry Fox Run for Cancer Research NYC.”

  1. 950003cups - Aug 5, 2013 at 9:24 PM

    Six bills to attend? That’s a spicy meatball!!!

  2. meynbass - Aug 5, 2013 at 9:40 PM

    Elbow macaroni as the main course?!?!?

    • nothanksimdriving123 - Aug 6, 2013 at 3:26 PM

      Free samples for all of Head & Shoulders?

  3. aklolzer - Aug 5, 2013 at 10:36 PM


    • jjregan21 - Aug 6, 2013 at 12:24 AM

      The only people who think that are people who skate with their head down

  4. drone501 - Aug 6, 2013 at 7:08 AM

    the father of the mid ice head shot.

  5. hockeyflow33 - Aug 6, 2013 at 1:13 AM


Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (2015)
  2. P. Kessel (1492)
  3. M. Richards (1298)
  4. N. Backstrom (1196)
  5. M. Giordano (1125)