Skip to content

Kruger gets two-year deal with ‘Hawks

Jul 12, 2013, 5:38 PM EDT

Marcus Kruger Getty Images

This morning, we passed along word that the Chicago Blackhawks were working diligently to get restricted free agent forward Marcus Kruger under contract.

Well, mission accomplished — the club announced this afternoon it’s re-signed the 23-year-old to a two-year deal.

Financials have yet to be reported.

Kruger had four goals and 13 points in 47 games this past season and was one of the team’s main penalty killers.

“He’s gained some strength over the last couple of years, which has allowed him to play against better players and stronger players and his ability to help us in a lot of different ways,” said ‘Hawks general manager Stan Bowman, per the Chicago Tribune.

“He played some wing for us in the playoffs and a lot of center during the regular season. He’s a big part of the penalty killing and that’s sort of his profile going forward–a versatile defender … and he’s worked on his offensive game a little bit. Looking into next year, I think his role’s only going to get bigger.”

  1. earpaniac - Jul 12, 2013 at 7:30 PM


  2. imleftcoast - Jul 12, 2013 at 7:51 PM

    I became a fan during the Detroit and Boston series. He was great in the third with the Hawks protecting a lead. Good player.

  3. endusersolutions2013 - Jul 12, 2013 at 9:48 PM

    Things continue to look good. What I’m homing is that the Hawks can somehow move Brookbank, Carillo and/or Bolling to free up cap space from some of the remaining RFAs that appear to have a more promising future – such as Ryan Stanton. Drew Leblanc

    • bollandio - Jul 12, 2013 at 11:10 PM

      They will sign both to 2-way deals for certain.. if mgmt wants them up, they can do the Rockford shuffle with Morin and Hayes. Cap hit is per day they are on the BH roster. No worries… and IMHO Bollig may yet be a keeper.

  4. blackhawks2010 - Jul 13, 2013 at 1:55 AM

    Good move, solid player with upside.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1721)
  2. P. Kane (1279)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1127)
  4. S. Matthias (1087)
  5. M. Giordano (990)