Skip to content

Roundup: Blues, Bruins, Devils and Ducks make minor moves

Jul 8, 2013, 11:03 PM EDT

cartercampergetty Getty Images

Let’s gather some of the smaller moves of free agency while we wait for the prominent stragglers to make up their minds, shall we?

  • The Boston Bruins retained young forward Carter Camper thanks to a one-year, two-way contract. The deal is worth $550K at the NHL level and $75K at the AHL level. (He’s featured in this post’s photo, holding the puck from his lone NHL goal on his lone NHL shot; he played three games with the Bruins in 2011-12).
  • OK, technically this isn’t a signing, but still: the St. Louis Blues acquired forward Pat Cannone from the Ottawa Senators for future considerations. Here’s a present and future consideration: he should be called “The Cannon,” even if he doesn’t have a very strong shot.
  • RDS reports (with help from Google translate) that the Anaheim Ducks signed pugilist Zack Stortini and defenseman Nolan Yonkman to two-way contracts.
  • Finally, the New Jersey Devils re-signed Mike Hoeffel, according to the Bergen Record’s Tom Gulitti. Gulitti wasn’t able to confirm rumors that the team also signed Rod Pelley.
  1. titansrbeast - Jul 8, 2013 at 11:25 PM

    “He should be called “The Cannon”, even if he doesn’t have a very strong shot.”

    WOW, that’s a clever one!

    • James O'Brien - Jul 8, 2013 at 11:32 PM

      Now now. Be nice.

    • jcmeyer10 - Jul 9, 2013 at 7:20 AM

      Way to throw barbs, what’s your entry if Mr. O’Brien’s is so offensive to originality?

  2. pone27 - Jul 9, 2013 at 7:54 AM

    I know Pat Cannone personally. He has serious talent, hopefully the Blues give him a crack considering their offense needs help anyways.

  3. beaver15 - Jul 9, 2013 at 10:01 AM


  4. beaver15 - Jul 9, 2013 at 10:02 AM

    That’s awesome you know him personally. What are his strengths & weaknesses?

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. D. Stepan (2372)
  2. J. Toews (1784)
  3. G. Bettman (1564)
  4. L. Couture (1557)
  5. B. Gionta (1532)
  1. C. Wilson (1518)
  2. A. Chiasson (1438)
  3. N. Bonino (1426)
  4. E. Fehr (1418)
  5. A. Larsson (1139)