Skip to content

Panthers sign ex-Rangers D Gilroy

Jul 8, 2013, 1:25 PM EDT

Matt Gilroy Getty Images

The Florida Panthers have inked veteran defenseman Matt Gilroy to a one-year, two-way deal, the club announced on Thursday.

Gilroy, 28, broke into the NHL with the Rangers in 2009-10 and proceeded to have his finest year during the 2011-12 campaign, when he appeared in 67 games for the Lightning and Senators, scoring 3G-17A-20PTS, finishing plus-6.

In 2013, Gilroy re-joined the Rangers on a one-year pact but only appeared in 15 games, spending the majority of his time with AHL Connecticut.

Gilroy should have a decent shot of making the Florida roster for 2013-14.

Florida lost the services of Tyson Strachan earlier today — he signed with the Capitals — and had already bought out the final year of Filip Kuba‘s contract, so there are positions to be won on defense.

The Panthers only currently have five defensemen under contract for next season: Brian Campbell, Ed Jovanovski, Erik Gudbranson, Dmitry Kulikov and Mike Weaver.

Of note, the Panthers also signed former Carolina center Jon Matsumoto today as well.

  1. barkar942 - Jul 8, 2013 at 2:16 PM

    Matt is obviously a great person, but will be a journeyman defenseman when a team is looking for #6 or 7.
    Best of luck, Matt.

  2. 950003cups - Jul 8, 2013 at 2:41 PM

    Gee what a surprise. Another Hobey Baker bust turned journeyman. Which moron gives out these awards? Here are the last eleven winners. ONE is a “pretty good” player (Carle)

    2003 Peter Sejna
    2004 Junior Lessard
    2005 Marty Sertich
    2006 Matt Carle
    2007 Ryan Duncan
    2008 Kevin Porter
    2009 Matt Gilroy
    2010 Blake Geoffrion
    2011 Andy Miele
    2012 Jack Connolly
    2013 Drew LeBlanc

    • barkar942 - Jul 8, 2013 at 2:44 PM

      Perhaps the award is more like a MVP award for the year in the college ranks. That is perhaps why many don’t pan out in the NHL.
      Perhaps this is why major junior league players are normally better. They do nothing but play hockey, while these poor Hobey Baker winners have to pass some classes.

      • 950003cups - Jul 8, 2013 at 4:14 PM

        I can name a lot of great players that came out of college that never played in the junior leagues. None of whom ever won the Hobey Baker. ALL of whom are better than all the ones in the last 11 years.


        Duncan Keith
        Dustin Penner
        Paul Martin
        Jake Gardiner

    • DED - Jul 8, 2013 at 4:53 PM

      The Hobey Baker Trophy is awarded to the NCAA player who best exhibits strength of character both on and off the ice and contributes to the integrity of the team and displays outstanding skills in all phases of the game.

      Who picks it? Maybe the criteria changed? I don’t know. But there were several players who won the award and went on to excel in the NHL (at least before 2003).

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1605)
  2. P. Kane (1443)
  3. S. Matthias (1294)
  4. M. Zuccarello (1182)
  5. D. Carcillo (1152)