Skip to content

Questions about Coyotes’ future hold up Tippett signing

Jun 19, 2013, 8:33 PM EDT

TippettMaloney Getty Images

Dave Tippett has agreed to the “dollars and cents” on a contract with the Phoenix Coyotes, he just needs clarity on the future of the franchise before signing a deal, Sportnet’s Chris Johnston reports.

Coyotes GM Don Maloney recently signed a contract extension with the team, but he understands Tippett’s concerns (and the fact that he could draw some serious suitors).

“Where he’s going to be coaching next year, that’s important to him — and I get it,” Maloney said. “He’s a very wanted commodity.”

Despite word that that Renaissance Sports Entertainment and the City of Glendale came to an arena lease agreement in principle last week,* the wheels continue to spin on the ownership situation, with the latest rumored possible relocation target being Seattle.

It’s unclear how it will all sort out, but this ownership mess, Tippett’s unsettled status and Mike Smith‘s looming free agency make for a huge summer for the Coyotes.

* – There’s a reason people practically strained muscles in noting that nothing was set in stone.

  1. titansbro - Jun 19, 2013 at 10:17 PM

    Just move this team to Seattle already. Why can’t the powers that be see the obvious right thing to do like the fans can?

    • rsmaggiemae - Jun 20, 2013 at 2:10 PM

      Move the team to Quebec where it belongs… I have a friend who lives in Phoenix and she said hardly anyone goes to the games that are not televised on national tv…
      Tired of this back and forth with no buyer

  2. canucks30 - Jun 20, 2013 at 3:53 AM

    Because Gary Bettman is stubborn and refuses to allow his arch nemesis Jim Balsillie the satisfaction of being right about the Coyotes not being viable in Glendale.

  3. dadisthatu - Jun 20, 2013 at 12:32 PM

    here’s a crazy idea instead of moving the team to Seattle, why don’t they just move back to Phoenix!?

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1397)
  2. P. Kane (1281)
  3. S. Matthias (1160)
  4. M. Zuccarello (1088)
  5. D. Carcillo (1082)