Skip to content

St. Louis wins third Lady Byng

Jun 14, 2013, 5:31 PM EDT

Martin St. Louis Getty Images

Martin St. Louis has won his third Lady Byng Trophy as the “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability,’ for 2013.

The Tampa Bay forward beat out Chicago’s Patrick Kane and New York Islanders forward Matt Moulson for the award.

St. Louis previously won the award in 2009-10 and 2010-11.

The veteran Bolts winger led the NHL with 43 assists and 60 points this season, winning the Art Ross for the second time in his career.

He did it while finishing second among all NHL forwards in total ice time, yet only got dinged for 14 penalty minutes all season long.

Top 10 voting for 2013 Lady Byng

(1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th place votes in parentheses)

1. Martin St. Louis, T.B. 824 (47-29-21-12-10)

2. Patrick Kane, CHI 785 (44-28-20-13-10)

3. Matt Moulson, NYI 750 (35-28-27-17-18)

4. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 536 (13-26-23-31-16)

5. Logan Couture, S.J. 354 (8-19-15-15-21)

6. Kris Letang, PIT 162 (2-6-13-9-8)

7. Derek Stepan, NYR 98 (1-5-5-7-7)

8. Jason Pominville, MIN 74 (0-2-7-4-13)

9. Loui Eriksson, DAL 72 (3-2-2-4-6)

10. Ryan Callahan, NYR 62 (5-0-0-3-3)

  1. 19to77 - Jun 14, 2013 at 5:41 PM

    You mean Matt Cooke wasn’t in the running? Travesty.

  2. islesjb - Jun 14, 2013 at 6:42 PM

    Isles get screwed again #BOYCOTT #REVOLT

  3. Windmiller4 - Jun 14, 2013 at 8:16 PM

    Kind of surprised to see Kane placed second after his recent history. Hopefully he’s turning himself around for the better

  4. polegojim - Jun 14, 2013 at 11:25 PM

    Hate the Lady Byng award… would NEVER want to win it.

    • 19to77 - Jun 14, 2013 at 11:41 PM

      Winners of the Lady Byng down the years include Marcel Dionne, Wayne Gretzky, Mike Bossy, Paul Kariya, Ron Francis, Joe Sakic, Pavel Datsyuk and more recently, Marty St. Louis.

      So you’re basically saying you would never want to be a world-class hockey player regarded for both absurd talent and class.

      I’mma go right ahead and say I’d be glad to, myself.

      • polegojim - Jun 15, 2013 at 8:07 AM

        I know precisely who has been awarded the trophy…
        I meant exactly what I said nothing more or less…

        I don’t want to be dirty… but I would NEVER want my opponents to feel good about playing against me… EVER. I’m glad Dats hasn’t won it since 2009.

        Let me know when you have the trophy in hand.

      • alicesrightfootesq - Jun 15, 2013 at 9:01 AM

        Pretty sure no one felt good playing against Gretzky, Bossy, Kariya, etc.

      • 19to77 - Jun 15, 2013 at 12:50 PM

        They polled the players back in 2010 or 2011 on who the hardest person to play against was. The most difficult to contain, the most difficult to get around, the all-around hardest player to deal with. #1 response? Datsyuk. Back in the 80’s and 90’s they’d have said Gretzky for the same reasons.

        So, in short, people DON’T feel good taking those guys on. You think anyone looked forward to a shift against Gretzky just ’cause he wasn’t liable to blow them up with a big hit? The goal horn hurts more than a bump here and there, buddy.

  5. ironman721 - Jun 15, 2013 at 1:32 AM

    What the hell is a lady Byng anyway?

    • polegojim - Jun 15, 2013 at 8:09 AM

      “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability”

  6. letsgolightning - Jun 15, 2013 at 10:42 AM

    When players get what they think is a cheap penalty, they always have that “Come on, seriously?” look on their face, saying the ref made a bad call. When Marty gets a cheap penalty, it’s the opponents making that face because they know it’s a bad call.

    But in all seriousness, it’s rare to even see this guy try to trip to stop someone from getting a breakaway. He plays great and is an asset to the sport. It’s good to see him recognized for his clean skill.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (2037)
  2. P. Kessel (1507)
  3. M. Richards (1308)
  4. N. Backstrom (1208)
  5. M. Giordano (1127)