Skip to content

Ottawa’s MacLean wins Jack Adams

Jun 14, 2013, 5:22 PM EDT

Paul MacLean AP

Ottawa Senators bench boss Paul MacLean has won the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s best coach for 2013, beating out Anaheim’s Bruce Boudreau and Chicago’s Joel Quenneville.

MacLean, who was named a finalist for the 2012 award and finished third in voting, captured the ’13 edition by leading an Ottawa team ravaged by injury (Erik Karlsson, Jason Spezza, Milan Michalek and Craig Anderson all missed significant time) to the No. 7 seed in the Eastern Conference.

A remarkable 14 rookies made at least one appearance for the Sens in 2013.

With the win, MacLean becomes just the second coach in Senators history to capture the award. Jacques Martin won it in 1998-99.

2012-2013 Jack Adams Award Voting
Paul MacLean, OTT   206   (28-19-9)
Joel Quenneville, CHI     160   (22-13-11)
Bruce Boudreau, ANA 88    (6-15-13)
Michel Therrien, MTL      78    (10-6-10)
Jack Capuano, NYI   47    (5-5-7)
Dan Bylsma, PIT     40    (4-4-8)
Randy Carlyle, TOR  40    (3-5-10)
Adam Oates, WSH     40    (2-8-6)
Todd Richards, CBJ  37    (3-5-7)
Mike Babcock, DET   7     (0-2-1)
Todd McLellan, S.J. 3     (0-1-0)
Darryl Sutter, L.A. 1     (0-0-1)

  1. Windmiller4 - Jun 14, 2013 at 5:25 PM

    Great to see, he deserves it for keeping Ottawa in the playoff race despite all the injuries. Too bad their owner is still an asshat

  2. 19to77 - Jun 14, 2013 at 5:28 PM

    The mighty Paulrus!

  3. freneticgarfieldfan - Jun 14, 2013 at 5:33 PM

    Congratulations, nobody deserves it more than Paul MacLean.
    However, what slightly surprises me: the 2011 SC winner coach and this year’s finalist doesn’t even make it to the list? WTF? (I know they voted before the play off, but still: where’s the competence?).

  4. bardown66 - Jun 14, 2013 at 5:35 PM

    He deserves this. I can’t think of anyone else who could have won it. Maybe Bruce Boudreaux. Still I hope ottawa improves. Besides Chris Neil it’s a likable squad.

  5. themohel - Jun 14, 2013 at 5:36 PM

    Hawks fan here. In most years I’d say that Quenneville should have won – if you project the Hawks record over 82 games the result is crazy. But the job Maclean did with those injuries this year was just great – congrats to him!

    • thesportsjudge - Jun 14, 2013 at 7:24 PM

      I would disagree that Q should have won. In my eyes, it should go to the coach that got the most out of what would be considered minimal talent. Chicago is LOADED with talent.

      • themohel - Jun 14, 2013 at 7:52 PM

        As I pointed out, I would have voted for Q in a normal year, so I’m not sure what you are disagreeing with… But I’ll disagree that the coach of the year needs to be coaching “minimal talent” in order to win. Q directed a team to the biggest point increase over the previous year. The Hawks were not picked to win their division, much less the West. They started the year with a record point streak, and then got better in the playoffs. That’s a pretty good job. By your standard, shouldn’t the Blue Jackets coach have won? I mean, his talent was so bad he just missed the playoffs….

      • thesportsjudge - Jun 15, 2013 at 8:16 AM

        Ya, I failed to assert my understanding fo your post. I know you said you would have voted for him in a normal year, so that was a huge mistake on my part. For that, I AM sorry. Also, I do usually think a coach of a team like the CBJ should have much stronger consideration.

        I believe Q did do a “pretty good job” In Chi-town this year, please do not misunderstand, although I would forgive you or anyone else because I did not post a very good response to your original one.

        I was just over-reacting. I always want the person who didn’t win to win. It is just in my blood.

  6. ibieiniid - Jun 14, 2013 at 5:36 PM

    then his look-alike wins too by default.

    • jcmeyer10 - Jun 14, 2013 at 8:22 PM

      One of the funniest moments of the hockey season.

  7. alexbaymac - Jun 14, 2013 at 9:33 PM

    Another Hawks fan here that was glad to see MacLean win. Obviously I’d have loved to see Q win it but I really think the ‘best’ coach won. Congrats!

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1922)
  2. P. Kane (1442)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1348)
  4. M. Richards (1200)
  5. M. Giordano (1181)