Skip to content

NHL Awards, Part 1, to be announced this evening

Jun 14, 2013, 10:55 AM EDT

Patrice Bergeron Getty Images

Just a reminder that the winners of the Bill Masterton Memorial, Frank J. Selke, King Clancy and Lady Byng trophies, the Jack Adams Award, the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, the NHL Foundation Player Award and the NHL General Manager of the Year Award will be announced this evening at 5 p.m. ET on the NHL Network. If you’re not around a TV, the show will be streamed live at

Tomorrow at 7 p.m. ET (right before Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final), the Hart, Calder, Norris, Vezina trophies, along with the Ted Lindsay Award, will be revealed on NBC Sports Network in the United States and CBC in Canada.

The full-scale awards show — a casualty of  the lockout — will be back in Las Vegas next year.

BILL MASTERTON MEMORIAL TROPHY (Perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild
Adam McQuaid, Boston Bruins

Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens
Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers
Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks

FRANK J. SELKE TROPHY (Top defensive forward)
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

HART MEMORIAL TROPHY (Most valuable player to his team)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
John Tavares, New York Islanders

JACK ADAMS AWARD (Top head coach)
Bruce Boudreau, Anaheim Ducks
Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators
Joel Quenneville, Chicago Blackhawks

Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins
P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens
Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild

LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY (Best sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability)
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Matt Moulson, New York Islanders
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators
Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens
Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks
Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins

TED LINDSAY AWARD (Most outstanding player as voted by members of the NHLPA)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

VEZINA TROPHY (Top goaltender)
Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets
Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers
Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks

  1. micklethepickle - Jun 14, 2013 at 11:08 AM

    I think the Calder Trophy will be interesting… all 3 of those guys were amazing their first year in. And honestly, can they just rename the Selke award the “Bergeron Trophy”? Toews is a good 2-way, but that guy is just on another level. Finally, rooting for Lundqvist for the Vezina; this year really cemented him in my mind as the best active goaltender in the league. Just a real shame he has a high-paid AHL team in front of him.

    • hockey412 - Jun 14, 2013 at 12:32 PM

      I think Toews has every shot at the Selke, actually. I’m sure that you are impartial.

      • micklethepickle - Jun 14, 2013 at 12:36 PM

        As a Caps fan, yes, I believe I am (for this trophy, at least, yea). Boston is my 2nd least favorite team in the League, so the fact that I’m compliment Bergeron to such an extent should show that I truly believe he is the best two-way forward of the era. And didn’t I compliment Toews in my post? In the words of Tobias Fumke, “DOUCHE-CHILL!!!!!”

      • hockey412 - Jun 14, 2013 at 12:48 PM

        Ah, my fault – I thought you’ve commented on every Boston post, but you didn’t, you only commented when someone bashed the Pens (or the writers for writing about them). Easy mistake. As for the Selke, I highly doubt it’s as much a steal as you’d make it out to be for Bergeron – that was my only point. Actually I’m not sure why Bergeron is even in the running this year, as far as personal beliefs. I feel the numbers and the facts favor Toews: 48 points and a plus-28. Bergeron had 32 points and a plus-24…but Bergeron also plays on a more defensively minded team. So…as far as saying Bergeron’s on another level, I’d say no, you’re wrong. Toews had 56 takeaways, second to only Datsyuk…Bergeron had 23 and was ranked 84th!! So…..

      • micklethepickle - Jun 14, 2013 at 12:53 PM

        I think that the Malkin article days and days ago (the trade speculation one; I know, there’s been so many!) other PHT commentators made the excellent point that takeaways are a misleading statistic, as they don’t discern in what zone the takeaway occurred. If all 23 of Bergeron’s happened in his own zone, and only half of Datsyuk’s/Toews’…. you see the point. Although those are very convincing statistics.

      • chanceoffleury1 - Jun 14, 2013 at 1:15 PM

        For what it’s worth, I’m a Pens fan rooting for the Hawks to avenge my Pens pitiful CF performance, but Bergeron deserves the award. He’s the definition of everything you want a defensive-minded forward to embody. Toews excels in other ways. He’s a great leader with a goal scoring touch. If he loses to Bergeron he has the chance to get the last laugh soon enough. I’m sure both of them could give two sh!ts about the Selke at a time like this.

  2. jpelle82 - Jun 14, 2013 at 11:20 AM

    st louis

  3. ibieiniid - Jun 14, 2013 at 12:08 PM

    I still can’t believe I didn’t get a Hart nomination. maybe next year.

  4. kingfooj - Jun 14, 2013 at 1:43 PM

    aside from suter, the Selke candidates play more defense than those up for the Norris

    • savoirlaire - Jun 14, 2013 at 4:16 PM

      Yeah, what the f is Subban’s name in there for? And no Weber, no Chara?

  5. chuchie414 - Jun 14, 2013 at 4:23 PM

    It is about time a DEFENSEMAN won the Norris for best d man.


  6. hockeyflow33 - Jun 14, 2013 at 4:51 PM

    Am I the only one who had no idea there wasn’t going to be an award show?

  7. broadstreetbeatdown - Jun 14, 2013 at 5:26 PM

    Its pretty sad that the Norris trophy has become the “which dman can put up the most points trophy” The only guy who plays D out of those three is Suter. The fact that Giveaway Letang was even nominated is appalling.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1622)
  2. P. Kane (1596)
  3. M. Richards (1365)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1212)
  5. N. Backstrom (1100)