Skip to content

Video: Bickell scores to give Blackhawks the lead, but was the play offside?

May 28, 2013, 1:02 AM EDT

Chicago Blackhawks v Detroit Red Wings - Game Six Getty Images

Monday’s Game 6 between the Chicago Blackhawks and Detroit Red Wings was not without controversy.

Blackhawks’ forward Bryan Bickell scored to give his team the lead early in the third period, banging home a rebound after some good work along the boards from Jonathan Toews. The Blackhawks went on to win by a final score of 4-3, forcing a Game 7 in this Western Conference semifinal.

But just seconds before the goal, there was some question as to whether the Blackhawks’ re-entry into the offensive zone should’ve actually be called on the offside. The replay shows the puck comes outside the blue line, with Toews still trapped in the Detroit zone.

Red Wings’ forward Johan Franzen appeared to bring the puck back into his zone, which eliminates the offside.

Those operating the NHL’s public relations’ Twitter account took to the social media site to explain why there was no offside call. Here is the NHL rule (83 – offside): “If a player legally carries or passes the puck back into his own defending zone while a player of the opposing team is in such defending zone, the off-side shall be ignored and play permitted to continue.”

  1. stakex - May 28, 2013 at 1:05 AM

    The only people questioning this are people who don’t know anything about the rules of hockey.

    • doubles22 - May 28, 2013 at 11:28 AM

      83.2 Deflections / Rebounds – When a defending player propels the puck out of his defending zone and the puck clearly rebounds off a defending player in the neutral zone back into the defending zone, all attacking players are eligible to play the puck. However, any action by an attacking player that causes a deflection/rebound off a defending player in the neutral zone back into the defending zone (i.e. stick check, body check, physical contact), a delayed off-side shall be signaled by the Linesman.

      A puck that deflects back into the defending zone off an official who is in the neutral zone will be off-side (or delayed off-side, as appropriate).

      Another sensationalistic headline that seems to feed the mob-mentality frenzy as it relates to officiating. Nobody ever just flat-out loses to better teams anymore. Gotta find a scapegoat, it certainly “wasn’t our fault.” Agree that this should not even be a story. Absent of that, the headline should read more along the lines of, “For those wanting an offside call on Bickell goal, time to educate yourselves on the rules.”

      Zebras have a tough enough job to do without crap like this trying to whip the fans into a frenzy. Nice job with the sensationalistic headline, Mr. Tucker.

  2. sjsharks66 - May 28, 2013 at 1:30 AM

    If you are watching it live (like i was) it looked offside. I even stated in another article it was. When they show the reverse angle though, it is the right call.

  3. hockeyflow33 - May 28, 2013 at 1:35 AM

    How is this a question?

  4. joeyg88 - May 28, 2013 at 1:51 AM

    Why is this a topic? Good call

  5. scrouch - May 28, 2013 at 7:30 AM

    Like some of the other posters, I don’t see why this is even reported on. It isn’t offside if you bring the puck into your own zone regardless of who is already in the zone. Similar plays happen frequently all season long. It isn’t even a close call, just a standard one. What’s next, explaining why something isn’t icing because then team who iced it touched the puck first?

  6. 19wasthebest - May 28, 2013 at 8:42 AM

    NBC thinks everyone is stupid

  7. comeonnowguys - May 28, 2013 at 8:45 AM

    The only reason this is being asked today is because NBCSN did a really poor job in waiting so long to address it.

    Of course it looked offside live from the broadcast angle. If they would have just showed the reverse angle at the time of the goal–because it was one of the key plays that led to it–the outrage train never would have left the station.

  8. lovac2 - May 28, 2013 at 9:09 AM

    I don’t know the specifics of the rule so I am asking: does it matter if you don’t have control of the puck when you bring back into the zone? To me it looked more like puck bounced from Franzen back into the zone rather than him taking it back. Does that matter?

  9. joeyg88 - May 28, 2013 at 9:47 AM

    Nope as long as franzen touched it and it went back into his own zone then the offsides is waved off

  10. sharksman - May 28, 2013 at 12:24 PM

    even if it was offsides they had plenty of chances to get the puck out and didn’t do it.
    What happens when you get a puck on your stick and don’t clear the puck ? That’s right the other team scores.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. K. Hayes (2100)
  2. S. Crosby (1965)
  3. R. Johansen (1606)
  4. D. Alfredsson (1521)
  5. J. Giguere (1342)