Skip to content

NHL awards to be announced during Cup finals

May 24, 2013, 11:48 AM EDT

Evgeni Malkin Getty Images

The 2013 NHL Awards winners will be announced in a pair of televised specials during the Stanley Cup finals.

Per the league, the day before Game 2 of the finals, the recipients of the Masterton, Selke, King Clancy and Lady Byng trophies, the Jack Adams Award, the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, the NHL Foundation Player Award and the NHL General Manager of the Year Award will be revealed at 5 p.m. on NHL Network in the United States and Canada.

At 7 p.m. the day of of Game 2, the Hart, Calder, Norris, Vezina trophies, along with the Ted Lindsay Award, will be announced on NBC Sports Network in the United States and CBC in Canada.

The full-scale awards show — a casualty of  the lockout — will be back in Las Vegas next year.

BILL MASTERTON MEMORIAL TROPHY (Perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild
Adam McQuaid, Boston Bruins

Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens
Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers
Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks

FRANK J. SELKE TROPHY (Top defensive forward)
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

HART MEMORIAL TROPHY (Most valuable player to his team)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
John Tavares, New York Islanders

JACK ADAMS AWARD (Top head coach)
Bruce Boudreau, Anaheim Ducks
Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators
Joel Quenneville, Chicago Blackhawks

Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins
P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens
Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild

LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY (Best sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability)
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Matt Moulson, New York Islanders
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators
Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens
Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks
Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins

TED LINDSAY AWARD (Most outstanding player as voted by members of the NHLPA)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

VEZINA TROPHY (Top goaltender)
Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets
Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers
Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks

  1. canucks30 - May 24, 2013 at 1:12 PM

    Do we really need the award show?

    Usually it’s composed of C lost celebrities feigning interest in hockey and awkward Pavel Datsyuk/Evgeni Malkin speeches.

    • atwatercrushesokoye - May 24, 2013 at 5:28 PM

      And here to present the 2013-14 Hart trophy winner is king of stage and screen Alan Thicke accompanied by bombshell Vanna White.

      I’m with you at best it’s C level celebrities and why Las Vegas? Are they hoping to generate the same buzz as the AVN Awards?

  2. pittsburghfan71 - May 24, 2013 at 5:34 PM

    I can honestly say I have no idea what the AVN awards are

    • atwatercrushesokoye - May 24, 2013 at 8:05 PM

      It’s the porn industry’s version of the Academy Awards, they’re also in Las Vegas.

  3. mizbinboston - May 24, 2013 at 11:59 PM

    Have to wonder what Mr. Lindsay thinks about an award named after him when he’s not dead yet and randomly drops in on the Wings locker room, totally flustering the players.
    “Terrible Ted”
    Yeah, that totally epitomizes Ovie and the other guy.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (2015)
  2. P. Kessel (1492)
  3. M. Richards (1298)
  4. N. Backstrom (1196)
  5. M. Giordano (1125)