Skip to content

Video: Alex Edler charges into Mike Smith

Mar 22, 2013, 12:11 AM EDT

The Phoenix Coyotes just returned from a brutal 0-3-1 road trip in which they were shut out three times in a row. The last thing they need is to lose their workhorse goalie upon their return to the desert.

The ‘Yotes are holding their collective breath thanks to this charging hit on Mike Smith by Alexander Edler from Thursday’s game:

Edler received a five-minute charging major but not a game misconduct for that check. Smith played the rest of the second period but was replaced by Jason LaBarbera in the third.

Smith suffered a collision earlier in the contest when Daniel Sedin crashed into his net. The 30-year-old netminder missed a week of action in late January with a lower-body injury.

  1. dolphincult - Mar 22, 2013 at 12:21 AM

    charging my ass. dont play the puck if you dont wanna get hit. you are just another player when u leave the crease. and by definintion that was not more than two strides. no way its a charge

    • hockeyflow33 - Mar 22, 2013 at 1:08 AM

      Learn the rules asshat

      69.4 Contact Outside the Goal Crease – If an attacking player initiates any contact with a goalkeeper, other than incidental contact, while the goalkeeper is outside his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.
      A goalkeeper is not “fair game” just because he is outside the goal crease. The appropriate penalty should be assessed in every case where an attacking player makes unnecessary contact with the goalkeeper. However, incidental contact will be permitted when the goalkeeper is in the act of playing the puck outside his goal crease provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such unnecessary contact.
      When a goalkeeper has played the puck outside of his crease and is then prevented from returning to his crease area due to the deliberate actions of an attacking player, such player may be penalized for goalkeeper interference. Similarly, the goalkeeper may be penalized, if by his actions outside of his crease he deliberately interferes with an attacking player who is attempting to play the puck or an opponent.

      • ikillchicken - Mar 22, 2013 at 3:02 AM

        You’re correct. You can’t hit the goalie regardless of where he is. But still, calling this charging is definitely incorrect. Edler doesn’t really accelerate at all in order to make the hit. He just glides in from up top after the puck. Smith gets in his way and Edler skated right through him. A penalty is the right call since the onus is on Edler to stop but that’s about as far as it goes. Calling it “charging” is seriously over-dramatic. Really, it’s a collision more than a deliberate hit.

      • ibieiniid - Mar 22, 2013 at 10:19 AM

        lol why did you start that with an insult? you can’t simply present facts if somebody is wrong?

      • 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Mar 22, 2013 at 2:29 PM

        I don’t think most refs have any ideas what the rules are. Last night Ott ran from halfway across the ice to hit a Leafs player and there was no call. That’s charging. In this case that’s an interference penalty, not charging.

      • davebabychreturns - Mar 22, 2013 at 3:01 PM

        http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26331

        Rule 42 – Charging
        42.1 Charging – A minor or major penalty shall be imposed on a player who skates or jumps into, or charges an opponent in any manner.

        A goalkeeper is not “fair game” just because he is outside the goal crease area. The appropriate penalty should be assessed in every case where an opposing player makes unnecessary contact with a goalkeeper. However, incidental contact, at the discretion of the Referee, will be permitted when the goalkeeper is in the act of playing the puck outside his goal crease provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.

        It is in fact charging.

      • dolphincult - Mar 23, 2013 at 1:13 AM

        tough guy hiding behind ur computer eh blowflow?

  2. thehighcountrybear - Mar 22, 2013 at 12:26 AM

    Given Smith’s propensity for the big sell on any hint of contact, Alex figured he’d give Mike full value for his theatrics and drill him anyway…can you spell smoked!

    Probably a bit of payback for all the leg-hacks Smith likes to hand out as well…chickens coming home to roost no doubt?

    Like Kiprusoff, Smith managed a delayed reaction head-whip all the same…what a pair of posers.

    • tlndma - Mar 22, 2013 at 8:40 AM

      You should really watch another sport.

    • bucrightoff - Mar 22, 2013 at 9:55 AM

      If you’re a Canucks fan complaining about diving and embellishment…well yeah we all laughed at the thought.

      • davebabychreturns - Mar 22, 2013 at 11:18 AM

        If ‘thehighcountrybear’ is who I think he is, calling him a Canucks fan is both hilarious and probably deeply offensive to him.

  3. DTF31 - Mar 22, 2013 at 12:51 AM

    If you go to play the puck with that little of a time and space cushion, what are you expecting the other team to do? That used to happen with Turco too and it was one of the main examples people complained about with goalies being protected outside the crease.

    • hockeyflow33 - Mar 22, 2013 at 1:09 AM

      It wasn’t incidental contact and was correctly called a penalty. It’s great that people want to remain ignorant while watching hockey but take that garbage somewhere else.

      • dolphincult - Mar 23, 2013 at 1:16 AM

        more tag on blow flow, nothn new here. move one

  4. canucks18 - Mar 22, 2013 at 1:28 AM

    I think the fellas up above are just stating what their opinion is and you with you juvenile name calling are the only one who should be labeled as an ‘asshat’ and unless it’s some new made up word you should use proper spacing when calling someone an ass hat. Jackass as in you’re a DONKEY

    • hockeyflow33 - Mar 22, 2013 at 3:58 PM

      It’s not an opinion, they’re flat out wrong

      • dolphincult - Mar 23, 2013 at 1:17 AM

        again more blow from flow about someone elses comment. nothn new. move on.

  5. kitshky - Mar 22, 2013 at 1:57 AM

    Good call, made no effort to stop and kinda leaned in at the last second … but I’m pretty sure the earlier collision with Daniel Sedin had more to do with him leaving the game than this one.

    (altho I’m sure both in the same game ain’t gonna feel good in the morning..)

  6. Stiller43 - Mar 22, 2013 at 1:57 AM

    Edler didnt even make a play for the puck. His stick was in the air and didnt even slow down…and his left arm extends on the hit. The intent is obvious. Correctly called a penalty

  7. proudliberal85392 - Mar 22, 2013 at 2:02 AM

    hockeyflow33 is absolutely correct. I was at the game and I can tell you, Edler should have been tossed. A goalie is never fair game. Smith was looking down to play the puck. He got hit hard and his head snapped backward. Cheap shot all the way.

    • davebabychreturns - Mar 22, 2013 at 11:26 AM

      Smith’s head always snaps backward.

      And yes it was a penalty.

  8. proudliberal85392 - Mar 22, 2013 at 2:06 AM

    Yep, the collision with D. Sedin was really ugly. Sedin went off the ice, followed by a trail of blood and it was very apparent Smith was dazed. Was happy to see Sedin return. He seemed to take the worst of it, but Smitty wasn’t much better.

  9. jhuck92 - Mar 22, 2013 at 2:20 AM

    This reminds me of that Andrew Shaw “hit” on Smith in the playoffs last year, except this was a real hit, even though Smith tried to sell the dive. Unfortunately for me, Smith didn’t embarrass himself this time by rolling around on the ice like he broke his nose.

  10. sjsharks66 - Mar 22, 2013 at 7:34 AM

    These hits are awesome to see, when its not your teams goaltender. I know i would be very upset if it was Niemi.

  11. spavs412 - Mar 22, 2013 at 7:34 AM

    Scum hit but I hate that goalies can be a skater with special rules…

  12. mario66sid87geno71 - Mar 22, 2013 at 7:50 AM

    Cheap shot! He should get a few games for this one.

  13. lordfletcher - Mar 22, 2013 at 8:21 AM

    Wasn’t charging …. it was a stupid hit …. worth 5 mins …. not worth suspending

    easy as that amigo’s

    • davebabychreturns - Mar 22, 2013 at 11:28 AM

      By the rulebook it was charging but I agree with everything else pretty much. I’d say it fell somewhere between a 2 and a 5 but if I was calling a game and some one blew up the goaltender behind his net I’d be awful tempted to hand out a major just to keep things in check.

  14. valoisjoeybfeld69 - Mar 22, 2013 at 8:30 AM

    Goalies are defenseless when out of the crease playing the puck around the net. Years back goalies were indeed fair game when playing the puck. That all changed when the rule referenced above was introduced. Not sure if the diciplinary czar has the authority to impose a suspension under the current rules, but these deliberate hits should come with an automatic 2 game suspension, and further sanctions imposed after review.

  15. treydogg97 - Mar 22, 2013 at 9:58 AM

    It’s the Canucks, you can just expect this kind of trash from them.

  16. gobucky1 - Mar 22, 2013 at 10:47 AM

    Mike Smith went down harder and stayed down longer when he was bumped by Shaw last year. Somebody get this guy an Oscar!

  17. comeonnowguys - Mar 22, 2013 at 4:34 PM

    I can’t fault the Canucks for this. It’s a penalty, sure, but Smith loves to oversell contact.

Featured video

Bettman hears the boos in Philly
Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. S. Crosby (1974)
  2. L. Stempniak (1842)
  3. D. Roy (1560)
  4. A. Rome (1414)
  5. R. O'Reilly (1411)
  1. C. Franson (1403)
  2. D. Booth (1292)
  3. R. Nash (1167)
  4. P. Subban (1127)
  5. M. Ribeiro (1060)