Mar 15, 2013, 12:42 PM EDT
The Nashville Predators were none too pleased with a ruling on the ice Thursday that led to Jannik Hansen‘s goal in a 7-4 loss to Vancouver.
“We couldn’t see any evidence of the puck going in,” Predators coach Barry Trotz told The Tennessean. “The only person in the rink who saw it go in was the referee.”
The referee in question was No. 40, Steve Kozari, who signaled a goal despite the fact that — as Trotz pointed out — nobody ever really saw it go in the net:
Granted, the logic of Kozari’s on-ice call seems simple. Nearly all of Preds goalie Chris Mason was essentially in the net, so the puck must have be in there too.
The hiccup, of course, is that once a goal is ruled good on the ice, there needs to be conclusive replay evidence to overturn the call — which there wasn’t.
This wasn’t the only call Nashville took offense to.
“I thought it was light,” Trotz told the Tennessean.
“Tough call,” added Weber. “Obviously they saw it one way.”
- Video: ‘It’s not the ideal situation,’ says OT hero Vermette of being a healthy scratch 5
- From healthy scratch to hero: Vermette scores OT winner for Blackhawks 46
- Video: Ducks score three goals in 37 seconds to take third-period lead 8
- WATCH LIVE: Ducks at Blackhawks, Western Conference Final Game 4 0
- Cooper on replacing Bishop: ‘That is asinine to me’ 25
- Vermette, Teravainen return for Blackhawks in Game 4 15
- Comeback fit for a King: Lundqvist, Rangers even series in Game 4 24
- Fetisov wants to restrict young Russians from playing in the NHL 53
- All eyes on Lundqvist 11
- Quenneville opted for ‘fresh legs’ by inserting Nordstrom, Versteeg into lineup 12
- Reports: Sabres thought they had a deal with Babcock, aren’t happy (174)
- Leafs land Babcock with reported 8-year deal, estimated at $50 million (130)
- Russia to be punished for ‘completely out of order’ actions after Worlds final loss to Canada (91)
- Report: Sabres negotiating with Babcock (82)
- What’s wrong with Lundqvist? (70)