Skip to content

Oilers held a players-only meeting before Sunday’s Blackhawks game

Mar 10, 2013, 7:28 PM EDT

Edmonton Oilers v Minnesota Wild Getty Images

After getting dismantled by Nashville on Friday, the Edmonton Oilers face a tough challenge in the Chicago Blackhawks on Sunday night. With that in mind, it makes sense that captain Shawn Horcoff decided to hold a players-only meeting before today’s game, according to the Edmonton Journal.

“We addressed a couple of issues,” said Horcoff. “We seem to be a little bit fragile right now.

“We came on this trip knowing it was going to be pivotal but we still have an opportunity here to salvage a decent trip and still give us a chance going forward. There’s still half a season left. It’s not over for us yet.

“There’s still belief here we can put a run together.”

Beating the Blackhawks (they’re currently up 3-0 early on) would give some reason to believe.

Unfortunately for Edmonton, the Oilers are in a familiar position at the moment: last overall in the West. They’ve lost five games in row.

Even so, they’re just six points out of the final playoff spot and will see Ales Hemsky, Horcoff and defenseman Teemu Hartikainen return to the mix.

In other words, there are plenty of reasons why that players-only meeting might work (or not).

  1. yanks33 - Mar 10, 2013 at 7:34 PM

    3-0 in the 1st period…i’d say something said def helped

    • comeonnowguys - Mar 11, 2013 at 9:10 AM


  2. valoisvipers - Mar 10, 2013 at 7:54 PM

    I hope somebody recorded what was said because they need to hear it 24 more times.

  3. mp1131211 - Mar 10, 2013 at 7:57 PM

    Seems to have worked so far….

  4. goobazooka - Mar 11, 2013 at 10:42 AM

    “will see Ales Hemsky, Horcoff and defenseman Teemu Hartikainen return to the mix.”

    Teemu is a d-man now, eh? Someone should let him know I guess, cause the guy is out of position all game long.

    Come on boys…

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1511)
  2. P. Kane (1353)
  3. S. Matthias (1242)
  4. M. Zuccarello (1162)
  5. D. Carcillo (1126)