Skip to content

Avs’ Landeskog out vs. Edmonton with injuries suffered on Stuart hit

Jan 28, 2013, 2:56 PM EDT

In news that’s sure to raise eyebrows across the league, the Colorado Avalanche announced captain Gabriel Landeskog will be held out of Monday’s game against Edmonton with head and neck injuries.

The eyebrow-raising part?

The injuries stem from a hit by Sharks defenseman Brad Stuart during Saturday’s loss in San Jose.

Landeskog left the ice immediately after the collision, but — in what will be scrutinized given today’s developments — returned to the game three minutes into the second period.

The 19-year-old ended up playing 16:23 all told.

Stuart wasn’t penalized for the hit and didn’t face any supplemental discipline from the NHL.

He defended his actions to CSNBayArea.com’s Kevin Kurz, saying “[if] you take those hits out of the game, you change the game.”

Landeskog also defended the hit.

“I haven’t seen [the replay] but I think it was a clean hit, or felt like a clean hit,” he said. “No elbow, but it was hard, I’ll tell you that much. I was kind of reaching for the puck and didn’t brace myself enough and he stepped up.

“That’s the way with hockey, you give some and you take some, and tonight I took a pretty big one.”

Conversely, Avs head coach Joe Sacco didn’t like the hit, telling Sportsnet’s Chris Johnston it was “a direct blow to the head.”

  1. ethanmacleod1685 - Jan 28, 2013 at 3:01 PM

    Hahahahaha

  2. billsfan13594 - Jan 28, 2013 at 3:18 PM

    You never want to see a player go down, especially one as promising as Landeskog, but nothing will earn him more respect than taking his lumps and coming back strong.

  3. hockeywithdrawal - Jan 28, 2013 at 3:51 PM

    He responded decently. I didn’t think it was a dirty hit, he certainly didn’t target the head, stayed on the ice, just nailed him. However, there is the old, forgotten rule of charging…you’ll hear about it now and again. Not saying I’m for it, but it’s there. Technically, this was definitely a penalty…again, not saying I’m for it…

    Rule 42 – Charging

    42.1 Charging – A minor or major penalty shall be imposed on a player who skates or jumps into, or charges an opponent in any manner.

    Charging shall mean the actions of a player who, as a result of distance traveled, shall violently check an opponent in any manner. A “charge” may be the result of a check into the boards, into the goal frame or in open ice.

    A minor, major or a major and a game misconduct shall be imposed on a player who charges a goalkeeper while the goalkeeper is within his goal crease.

    A goalkeeper is not “fair game” just because he is outside the goal crease area. The appropriate penalty should be assessed in every case where an opposing player makes unnecessary contact with a goalkeeper. However, incidental contact, at the discretion of the Referee, will be permitted when the goalkeeper is in the act of playing the puck outside his goal crease provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.

    42.2 Minor Penalty – The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a minor penalty, based on the degree of violence of the check, to a player guilty of charging an opponent.

    42.3 Major Penalty – The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a major penalty, based on the degree of violence of the check, to a player guilty of charging an opponent (see 42.5).

    42.4 Match Penalty – The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a match penalty if, in his judgment, the player attempted to or deliberately injured his opponent by charging.

    • sjsharks86 - Jan 28, 2013 at 4:47 PM

      Haha not really sure why peple would dislike this completely objective comment, do they not like that Charging is in the rulebook?

      • sabatimus - Jan 28, 2013 at 5:05 PM

        I dislike it because Stuart did jump prior to contact, and targeted Landeskog’s chin. The fact that Stuart wasn’t suspended is further proof of Shanahan’s idiocy….just like last year.

    • hockeywithdrawal - Jan 28, 2013 at 9:34 PM

      Do you also think O’Byrne (sp may be wrong) should be suspended? I’m pretty sure he was targetting the chin….

  4. nogoodtomedead - Jan 28, 2013 at 5:01 PM

    I’m a Sharks fan and I was watching this game and I’m surprised there wasn’t some kind of disciplinary action. I don’t think it was a dirty hit, but I would think they would want to protect young star’s heads after the Crosby issues. Maybe the league thinks that players need to do a better job of protecting themselves rather then relying on opponents to look out for them?? Whatever the case may be- hopefully its just a sore neck and he’s ok and back on the ice soon. Avalanche have a lot of young talent that is fun to watch, I want to see them come together.

  5. mp1131211 - Jan 28, 2013 at 6:24 PM

    He probably has whiplash.

    My first reaction was definitely head shot. Watching the replays, it’s pretty clear that the head wasn’t primary point of contact. But he definitely left the ice to make the hit.

    I’ll have to watch again, but I wonder if landeskog’s head hit the ice.

  6. pandorasdadca - Jan 29, 2013 at 5:40 PM

    Bottom line, Stuart didn’t hit him in the head. I agree that it meets the rule book definition of charging and when I watched the game you saw Stuart’s elbow come up. Replay clearly showed it was AFTER contact. Of course Sacco isn’t going to like it, it put his guy out. Hockey is a physical game. Guys get hurt, short of eliminating contact, that’s not going to change.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. K. Hayes (2100)
  2. S. Crosby (1965)
  3. R. Johansen (1606)
  4. D. Alfredsson (1521)
  5. J. Giguere (1342)