Skip to content

PHT Morning Skate: Where Isles owner thinks his team will make the playoffs

Oct 26, 2012, 9:00 AM EDT

John Tavares Getty Images

PHT’s Morning Skate takes a look around the world of hockey to see what’s happening and what we’ll be talking about around the NHL world and beyond.

The lockout is impacting a lot of people associated with hockey beyond just the players and owners, but NHL scouts still have a job to do. (Ottawa Citizen)

Islanders owner Charles Wang said his team is “going to make the playoffs.” Of course, the lockout has to end for that to be possible. (Newsday)

Speaking of the Islanders, the New York Rangers are fine with their planned move to Brooklyn. (Newsday)

For that matter, Devils GM Lou Lamoriello is also supportive of the Islanders’ relocation. (New Jersey Online)

Taylor Hall is returning to Edmonton to get cleared to resume playing after undergoing off-season shoulder surgery. With the lockout still in full force, he’s expected to join the AHL Oklahoma City Barons. (Edmonton Sun)

Maxime Talbot will be honored by his former team, the QMJHL Gatineau Olympiques on Friday. (Ottawa Citizen)

The rosters have been set for Friday’s Champs for Charity game. (CSN Chicago)

  1. bcisleman - Oct 26, 2012 at 10:10 AM

    If there is a season and the Isles can stay healthy, especially in net, I see no reason why they can’t contend for a playoff spot. And of course the Rangers are happy about the NYI move. They wanted the team to stay in NY so they could play 3 more games in their home market and now their commute will be even shorter for those games.

  2. isithockeyseasonyet - Oct 26, 2012 at 11:48 AM

    Problem is the division they play in, penguins, flyers, rangers, devils…I dont see the isles passing any of those teams yet…however, maybe this is the year the devils finally take a step back….but pretty sure that’s been said for the past 10 years about them and they were just 2 wins away from a championship

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1680)
  2. P. Kane (1307)
  3. S. Matthias (1164)
  4. D. Carcillo (1060)
  5. C. Ehrhoff (1038)