Skip to content

Niedermayer has been inducted into Canadian Sports Hall of Fame

Oct 20, 2012, 10:00 AM EDT

Scott Niedermayer Getty Images

Scott Niedermayer can add being in the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame to his long list of accomplishments.

“I’ve been tremendously fortunate throughout my hockey career of playing with great teammates, for good organizations and getting a chance to play for Canada in a bunch of international competitions,” Niedermayer said in an report.

“That has added up to some success and some championships and some great memories. This is a great way to sort of sum all that up. It means a lot to get recognized for your accomplishments over a long period of time. It means a lot.”

Niedermayer was inducted alongside rower Derek Porter, bobsled pilot Pierre Lueders, speed skater Jeremy Wotherspoon, figure skaters Jamie Sale and David Pelletier, and soccer player Charmaine Hooper.

During his playing career, Niedermayer won the Stanley Cup four times along with the Memorial Cup, the 1991 World Junior Championships, two Olympic gold medals, the 2004 World Cup of Hockey, and the 2004 World Championships. He was also awarded the James Norris Memorial Trophy in 2004 and the Conn Smythe Trophy in 2007.

  1. bcsteele - Oct 20, 2012 at 10:16 AM

    Simply one of the best to ever play the game in my point of view. I believe his style made it almost a “must-have” ability for offensive defenseman to skate the puck into the offensive zone.

    Also a class act player. Congrats one a decorated career.

    • theawesomersfranchise - Oct 20, 2012 at 12:13 PM

      You believe that Niedermayer’s style made it a must have ability to skate the puck into the zone?

      Not sure what that means at all
      Niedermeyer wasn’t doing anything every Russian wasn’t taught to do, or anything Orr and Coffey hadn’t previously done.

      Niedermayer was great ‘n all but he wasn’t ground-breaking or changed anything

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1823)
  2. P. Kane (1353)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1193)
  4. S. Matthias (1152)
  5. M. Giordano (1051)