Skip to content

You can kick the puck in now in Sweden

Sep 1, 2012, 4:50 PM EDT

Hockey Skates Getty Images

The Swedish Elite League will allow goals to be kicked in this season, so long as the skate remains along the ice.

According to Linus Hugosson of Pro Hockey Magazine, it’s hoped the new rule will make it easier for referees to determine if a goal is good or not.

So now instead of everyone arguing over whether there was a “distinct kicking motion,” we suppose they’ll be arguing over whether the skate remained along the ice.

Anyway, we’re sure SEL goalies are thrilled with the news and can’t wait to try and cover a loose puck in the crease while everyone’s kicking at it.

  1. Bobcat IRL - Sep 1, 2012 at 4:59 PM

    I think this rule is heading in the right direction, but they goofed on the wording. If the purpose of not allowing a goal to be kicked in is to protect the goalie who is trying to cover, then they should say that a puck can be kicked in if the kick is directed from outside the crease.

  2. jacketsfan7 - Sep 1, 2012 at 5:17 PM

    That’s stupid

  3. id4joey - Sep 1, 2012 at 5:32 PM

    Stupid rule. Next it will allow goals with the glove as long as it doesn’t brush against the ice.

  4. stakex - Sep 1, 2012 at 6:14 PM

    Actually, this rule isn’t that far from whats already allowed in the NHL. You are in fact allowed to score a goal with your skate in the NHL. You can’t kick it in, but you are allowed to direct it into the net.

    Now while this new rule allows you to kick it in, having to keep your skate on the ice is the sticking point. Anyone whos played any amount of serious hockey knows damn well thats not going to be a very easy thing to do. Trying to kick at a puck while your blade is stuck in the ice is a lot harder then it sounds since your blade wants to dig in. If your going to get any serious motion into the puck, you blade almost has to leave the ice… which will result in no goal.

    • 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Sep 1, 2012 at 6:18 PM

      I don’t think you’re allowed to direct the puck into the net with your skate in the NHL if that’s your intention. It’s a good goal if you’re clearly trying to stop or are heading to the net and the puck bounces in off your skate. You can’t blatantly turn your skate in order to direct it in.

      • taytay099 - Sep 1, 2012 at 9:47 PM

        Yes you can. As long as there is no kicking motion.

  5. id4joey - Sep 1, 2012 at 6:23 PM

    You re allowed to deflect the puck in the net as long as it is not a distinct kicking motion.

  6. redwingsfan999 - Sep 1, 2012 at 6:30 PM

    Stupid rule

  7. 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Sep 1, 2012 at 7:39 PM

    “78.5 Disallowed Goals

    (i) When the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.”

    The puck can deflect in off your skate accidentally but you can’t direct it in. Sounds like you boys need to brush up on your rules, eh?

    • thewall3004 - Sep 1, 2012 at 8:29 PM

      Sound like the refs should…I didn’t know that’s how it was worded…I’ve seen multiple goals get directed in with skates…as long as they don’t “kick” at it…

    • thewall3004 - Sep 1, 2012 at 8:31 PM

      Just looked it up….rule 49.2…it can be directed in

      • 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Sep 1, 2012 at 10:47 PM

        Interesting. As long as I can remember there have been disallowed goals on the basis that a player turned his skate in order to direct the puck into the net.

        What’s also interesting is that the rule I posted totally contradicts 49 yet there is no language to indicate one supersedes the other. As if the refs didn’t do a bad enough job enforcing cut-and-dry rules, now I find out when the puck goes in off a player’s skate they pretty much have to choose which rule to apply. Good grief.

      • 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Sep 1, 2012 at 10:49 PM

        “49.2 Goals

        A puck that is directed into the net by an attacking player’s skate shall be a legitimate goal as long as no distinct kicking motion is evident. ”

        “78.5 Disallowed Goals

        (i) When the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.”

        Seriously. So the skate is now an extension of the stick? This is bizarre.

  8. revansrevenant - Sep 1, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    This has me worried about more incidents like the one where that goaltender ended up having his carotid artery slashed open. That was nasty enough to have it happen once. This is just increasing the risk, I think.

  9. kingfooj - Sep 1, 2012 at 8:45 PM

    this is what is going to happen: Some D man is going to be on his knees with the goalie scrambling to clear the puck out of the crease, a Forward is going to kick it in, but the follow through hits the D or the Goalie. SO, is it a suspension for kicking or is it a goal?

  10. ironmike778 - Sep 1, 2012 at 9:33 PM

    Crazy Swedes.

  11. highlander24 - Sep 2, 2012 at 1:46 AM

    Dumbass rule. It’s not soccer.

  12. dayno66 - Sep 2, 2012 at 2:37 AM

    Idiotic

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. B. Bishop (1971)
  2. D. Alfredsson (1900)
  3. M. Fleury (1872)
  4. C. Anderson (1769)
  5. J. Schultz (1474)
  1. J. Boychuk (1383)
  2. D. Krejci (1381)
  3. D. Setoguchi (1363)
  4. E. Staal (1326)
  5. J. Harding (1215)