Skip to content

Today’s CBA talks have been canceled

Aug 22, 2012, 2:11 PM EDT

Gary Bettman AP

Well, so much for today being the day the NHL and NHLPA got down to some serious negotiating.

Turns out the scheduled bargaining session has been canceled.

According to Canadian Press sources, NHL commissioner Gary Bettman, along with deputy commissioner Bill Daly, met with NHLPA chief Donald Fehr and union No. 2 Steve Fehr for two hours this morning in Toronto. It was then decided to postpone further talks until Thursday.

It’s not clear why today’s talks were canceled.

We suppose it’s possible the four top guns got together, made some headway, and chose to go back to their respective corners for further strategizing.

Of course, it’s also possible they made zero headway and felt this afternoon’s meetings would be a huge waste of time.

  1. greatminnesotasportsmind - Aug 22, 2012 at 2:19 PM

    I’d go with the later. Ugh

  2. sjsharks66 - Aug 22, 2012 at 2:21 PM

    I honestly don’t care what happens at this point as long as there is no lockout. I really hope the 10 year before UFA does not happen though.

  3. capsrockva - Aug 22, 2012 at 2:36 PM

    this sucks. I just want the owners and players to get along and put the betterment of the sport above their greedy needs

  4. ballistictrajectory - Aug 22, 2012 at 2:46 PM

    I guessing DiPietro fell and suffered a season ending thumb injury.

  5. jernster21 - Aug 22, 2012 at 3:33 PM

    Fehr spiked Bettman’s water with eye drops.

  6. mpg44 - Aug 22, 2012 at 3:47 PM

    The players and the owners have forgotten that the fans and the sport are way bigger then they will ever be!! I really doubt they ( players and owners ) will ever realize this !!

  7. chiadam - Aug 22, 2012 at 5:13 PM

    Neither side cares about the fans. Know that. We’re a sport fuc* for both the owners and the players. They completely ignore us most times and call us up when they need a little sumthin sumthin.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1680)
  2. P. Kane (1307)
  3. S. Matthias (1164)
  4. D. Carcillo (1060)
  5. C. Ehrhoff (1038)