Skip to content

Campbell becomes first defenseman to win Lady Byng since 1954

Jun 20, 2012, 8:42 PM EDT

Brian Campbell

Florida’s Brian Campbell has accomplished something not done by a defenseman since Detroit’s Red Kelly in 1954: he has won the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

The award is given to the “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” Basically, it’s handed to the star player who does the most to minimize his time in the penalty box.

Campbell is certainly a worthy recipient after recording 53 points and just six penalty minutes in 82 games.

The award was voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association and Campbell only narrowly edged out his fellow finalists, Edmonton’s Jordan Eberle and the New York Islanders’ Matt Moulson. Campbell had 582 points to Eberle’s 518 and Moulson’s 517.

Recent Winners:
2006-09 – Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit)
2010-11 – Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay)

  1. mydadyourmom - Jun 20, 2012 at 8:47 PM


  2. vockeea - Jun 21, 2012 at 9:59 AM

    While I generally think that Campbell deserved to win this award, the fact that Nick Lidstrom never won this award is mockery for what this award is supposed to stand for. Granted he received a boatload of attention in other areas, this award was really a Nick Lidstrom award by pure definition alone. In over 1500 games played, he never once received a fighting major, and only one roughing minor.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1530)
  2. P. Kane (1381)
  3. S. Matthias (1252)
  4. M. Zuccarello (1165)
  5. D. Carcillo (1129)