Skip to content

Referee Auger announces retirement

Jun 15, 2012, 12:59 PM EDT

Minnesota Wild v Dallas Stars Getty Images

NHL referee Stephane Auger has retired in order to spend more time with his family, the league announced today.

“After 13 exciting years as an official for the National Hockey League, I have made the difficult decision to retire from this position in order to take a more active role in the growth of my three young children,” said Auger in a statement. “Time away from home during their adolescent years has become more and more difficult each season. Being closer to home will enable me to help my wife, Josée, and allow me to be a more present dad.”

Auger was no stranger to controversy during his NHL career. There was that thing with Alex Burrows. And that thing with Shane Doan. Islanders coach Jack Capuano wasn’t a fan.

Auger retires having reffed 739 regular-season games and 10 playoff contests. (Fun fact: the NHL chooses what it considers the best refs to work the playoffs.)

  1. herc883 - Jun 15, 2012 at 1:05 PM

    Thank you Auger, you prick. This guy was terrible. Most biased official ever!

  2. spiciercheez - Jun 15, 2012 at 2:46 PM


  3. dawglb - Jun 15, 2012 at 3:08 PM

    Just glad to hear he isn’t suing the NFL for concussions he would have had,….had he chosen to be an NFL referee instead of an NHL ref.

    • supr49er - Jun 15, 2012 at 3:14 PM

      This augurs well for the league. Sorry…

  4. DTF31 - Jun 15, 2012 at 4:42 PM

    Hopefully Chris Lee is to follow

  5. imleftcoast - Jun 15, 2012 at 5:38 PM

    Lying douchebag. Hopefully, that lip-reading sack of dicks Ron McLean will retire as well.

  6. jimw81 - Jun 15, 2012 at 7:12 PM

    Say goodbye to aunger’s 9 min power play.

  7. taytay099 - Jun 15, 2012 at 9:21 PM

    He was a terrible ref and I’m glad he’s retiring. NHL needs more refs like Stephen Walkom, Paul Devorski, Dan O’Halloran and Dennis LaRue.

  8. RoseTintedVisor - Jun 16, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    good bye you sack of trash.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (1858)
  2. P. Kessel (1724)
  3. M. Richards (1476)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1281)
  5. N. Backstrom (1201)