Skip to content

Lightning signs AHL affiliate agreement with Syracuse; Norfolk talking to Ducks?

Jun 14, 2012, 1:09 PM EDT


Just days after winning the Calder Cup, the AHL’s Norfolk Admirals are looking for a new parent club. The one they’ve had since 2007, the Tampa Bay Lightning, has signed an affiliation agreement with the Syracuse Crunch.

The Admirals released a statement on their website assuring fans the team isn’t going anywhere and that they “anticipate announcing an affiliation agreement” with an NHL club “in the near future.”

The Virginian-Pilot reports that the NHL club could be the Anaheim Ducks, who have been the parent of the Crunch the past two seasons.

Lightning VP and Admirals’ GM Julien Brisebois tells the paper the move is being made to cut down on bus travel.

“We have no problem with the city, with the arena, with ownership of the Admirals,” Brisebois said. “I think it makes a huge difference in the wear and tear on the players. A good night’s sleep on a regular basis is important.”

As you can see here, Norfolk’s division rivals — Binghamton, Syracuse, Hershey and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton — are a ways away.

  1. hockinj25 - Jun 14, 2012 at 1:21 PM

    I know this is common but how does this effect the players? If they were in the Lightning or Ducks organization do they have to change teams?

    • kingbuccaneer - Jun 14, 2012 at 2:01 PM

      All of Norfolk’s team from last season now plays for the Syracuse Crunch.

      Bolts fans go through this every 5 years or so…

      • tarotsujimoto74 - Jun 14, 2012 at 5:55 PM

        I don’t think it’s all of them. I thought it was only players that are under contracts with Tampa, with some of them being players that just signed with Norfolk, but I’m not sure about this.

  2. nothanksimdriving123 - Jun 14, 2012 at 2:32 PM

    Hey Brough, it’s the Virginian-Pilot, not Virginia-Pilot.

    • Jason Brough - Jun 15, 2012 at 1:28 AM

      Thanks. Fixed.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (1804)
  2. P. Kessel (1386)
  3. M. Richards (1172)
  4. N. Backstrom (1083)
  5. M. Giordano (1034)