Skip to content

Mike Richards and Peter DeBoer share championship history

May 27, 2012, 12:20 PM EDT

Mike Richards Getty Images

There are a lot of potential story lines in this year’s Stanley Cup finals, some of which we took a look at yesterday, but there’s one that’s got a history of success tied to it.

Kings forward Mike Richards and Devils coach Peter DeBoer have a championship link that dates back to when DeBoer was Richards’ coach in junior hockey. In 2004, DeBoer coached the Kitchener Rangers to the Memorial Cup with Richards as his top scoring forward.

Rich Hammond of L.A. Kings Insider hears from Richards about what it was like playing for DeBoer and now having to beat him for hockey’s ultimate prize seven years after parting ways.

“It’s hard to believe it’s already been seven years (since his junior career ended). He’s getting old. I’m getting old, but he’s getting really old,” Richards says laughing.

“He had a big part in my career, getting me through the four years and teaching me a lot, and obviously won with it too, not only at the Memorial Cup but he was there in World Juniors as an assistant coach. It was a pretty unique situation, but I obviously hope that we have success.”

Obviously, duh.

Teacher vs. pupil makes for a good story to follow. Hey it worked in Star Wars, right?

  1. danphipps01 - May 27, 2012 at 1:41 PM

    Adding to the Star Wars narrative is the act that Lou Lamoriello is the spitting image of Emperor Palpatine.

  2. blomfeld - May 27, 2012 at 2:04 PM

    Whatever ….

    All I know is that by getting these Devils for dessert, we Kings have now been given not only an easier path to the ultimate prize, but as well a chance to do “justice” against an organization which has forever heralded “boredom” as a legitimate form of entertainment !

    GO KINGS GO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. mydadyourmom - May 27, 2012 at 5:39 PM

    I heard they had a bath together in junior but it didn’t get out of hand.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1820)
  2. P. Kane (1348)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1192)
  4. S. Matthias (1150)
  5. M. Giordano (1050)