Skip to content

Either Brown or Parise will have something in common with Derian Hatcher

May 26, 2012, 6:57 PM EDT

Derian Hatcher Getty Images

While we don’t know who will win the Stanley Cup, we do know one thing: The first guy to lift the Cup is going to be an American.

What you may not also know is that it’ll mark only the second time an American captained a team to the title. New Jersey is led by Zach Parise (Minneapolis, MN) while L.A. has Dustin Brown (Ithaca, NY) wearing the “C” for them.

Derian Hatcher (Sterling Heights, MI) was the first and last American to pull off the feat in 1999 with the Dallas Stars when they beat Buffalo. While fans in Buffalo are busy still cursing out Brett Hull for that, perhaps they’ll be rooting on New York’s own Brown to lift the Cup. “I know Ithaca isn’t near Buffalo,” says the guy writing this from near Albany.

Wild fans might be eager to see one of Minnesota’s own win it all, but they’re conflicted knowing a Cup win for New Jersey might all but lock up Parise staying with the Devils rather than becoming a free agent. Wild fans sure are interested in Parise if he becomes available.

  1. leafsfaninla - May 26, 2012 at 7:06 PM

    Hey NBC, think about bringing on Bob Miller, the voice of the Kings for decades, let him do the play by play for these SCF

    • blkeskimo1785 - May 26, 2012 at 7:32 PM

      How about Gary Thorne and Bill Clement? Or replace McGuire with Melrose.

  2. capsrockva - May 26, 2012 at 11:49 PM

    I like McGuire

  3. bleed4philly - May 27, 2012 at 12:15 AM

    Thorne is too busy doing orioles’ games, besides, emmerich is the king

  4. wingsrule12 - May 27, 2012 at 2:30 AM

    Emerick sucks I refuse to watch the playoffs after the wings get knocked out because NBC shoves that worthless sob down our throats. Hey mike anybody that knows anything about sudden death overtime knows that “the next goal wins”. We don’t need to hear it every 30 freaking seconds

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1530)
  2. P. Kane (1381)
  3. S. Matthias (1252)
  4. M. Zuccarello (1165)
  5. D. Carcillo (1129)