Skip to content

It’s Giroux vs. Malkin, Tavares vs. Rinne in EA NHL 13 Cover Vote

May 24, 2012, 10:26 AM EDT

Giroux Malkin 2

It’s down to the final four for the cover of EA NHL 13.

On Thursday, the NHL and Electronic Arts announced that Claude Giroux, Evgeni Malkin, John Tavares and Pekka Rinne all advanced to the semifinals, with hockey fans casting over 19 million votes to date.

Bracket A will see a pair of leading scorers lock horns in Philly’s Giroux and Pittsburgh’s Malkin. In Bracket B, Islanders sniper Tavares will take on Nashville’s Vezina-nominated netminder, Rinne.

In the quarterfinals, Giroux defeated Los Angeles’ Anze Kopitar while Malkin defeated Giroux’s teammate, Scott Hartnell. Tavares edged out Detroit center Pavel Datsyuk while Rinne won an all-goalie matchup against the Rangers’ Henrik Lundqvist.

The winner of the cover vote campaign will be unveiled as the EA SPORTS NHL 13 Cover Athlete at the 2012 NHL Awards on June 20 at the Wynn Las Vegas (7pm ET on NBC Sports Network.)

  1. hockinj25 - May 24, 2012 at 11:08 AM

    How did Tavares beat Datsyuk?

    • rarelyshaves - May 24, 2012 at 5:13 PM

      no idea…

      but WOW – none of these players are marketable!

  2. sjsharks66 - May 24, 2012 at 11:16 AM

    Malkin deserves it, look a how amazing his season was. He even dominated in the worlds.

  3. napoleonblownapart6887 - May 24, 2012 at 11:36 AM

    I think Malkin should win it, but really whoever comes out of the Giroux/Malkin will win it.

  4. mclovinhockey - May 24, 2012 at 1:15 PM

    It’s gotta be a Canadian. Vote 28 and JT!!!

  5. spavs412 - May 24, 2012 at 3:04 PM

    Geno best player in the world and I have a guy names Crosby on my team!!

  6. taytay099 - May 24, 2012 at 8:06 PM


  7. aphoticapex - May 25, 2012 at 5:36 PM

    Not marketable? I agree slightly. Rinne and Malkin are the closest to being as such. Both should move to the finals, too.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1816)
  2. P. Kane (1482)
  3. M. Richards (1314)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1306)
  5. N. Backstrom (1168)