Skip to content

Here are the finalists for’s “Fight of the Year”

May 24, 2012, 3:43 PM EDT

Over at, voting is underway for the website’s annual award series.

While there’s a plethora of intriguing categories — the Grimson Award for Best Punching Power/Most Destructive Fighter is a good one — the marquee event is, of course, Fight of the Year.

This season’s field has been whittled down to five worthy candidates.

They are:

Tanner Glass vs. Cody McCormick

Jay Rosehill vs. Brian McGrattan

Eric Boulton vs. Chris Neil

Cam Janssen vs. Micheal Haley

Mike Brown vs. Kris Newbury

Feel free to add your vote, thoughts or alternate fight candidate in the comments section below.

  1. bcisleman - May 24, 2012 at 3:57 PM

    My write-in candidate: Matt Martin v Zack Kassian:

    Matt and Zack were already aquainted from Juniors

  2. sjsharks66 - May 24, 2012 at 4:12 PM

    Lucic vs Gaustad or asham vs Beagle or engellend vs simmonds

  3. martysbetter - May 24, 2012 at 4:43 PM

    Ah yes, this brings me back to a time where the Devils were running out Boulton – Janssen – Sestito on the fourth line.. can’t say I miss that.

  4. GenoPringles - May 24, 2012 at 5:27 PM

    Soupcan destroying that little wanna be Giroux should win

  5. vshehane - May 24, 2012 at 5:53 PM

    I love Brian McGrattan!

  6. pensfan603 - May 24, 2012 at 7:44 PM

    my write in 1:48 the knockout punch

  7. flyeredup - May 25, 2012 at 12:08 AM

    Personally I loved the Kovalchuk pummeling of Brayden Schenn. I’m still pissed for trading Mike Richards for a 19 year old role player and a 3rd line hack. LA wins the Cup and Holmgren gets the credit. Sigh

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1603)
  2. P. Kane (1278)
  3. S. Matthias (1121)
  4. D. Carcillo (1041)
  5. C. Ehrhoff (1019)