Skip to content

Kings continue to set playoff records

May 18, 2012, 12:34 PM EDT

LOS ANGELES, CA - APRIL 2: Jonathan Quick #32 of the Los Angeles Kings makes the save against the Edmonton Oilers at Staples Center on April 2, 2012 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Andrew D. Bernstein/NHLI via Getty Images) Getty Images

The latest, from Elias Sports Bureau:

Jonathan Quick has won his last eight playoff starts and has not allowed more than two goals in any of them (he owns a 1.24 goals-against average and a .950 save percentage).

That matches the longest such streak within one season in NHL playoff history. Detroit’s Terry Sawchuk won all eight of his playoff starts and did not allow more than two goals in any of them back in 1952.

Throw this on top of a pile that already includes:

Dustin Brown tying the playoff record for shorthanded goals in one game (two, vs. Vancouver.)

— The Kings tying the playoff record for consecutive road wins (nine, with 1982-83 Islanders.)

— The Kings tying the playoff record for consecutive road wins in a single postseason (seven, last done by Chicago in 2010.)

— The Kings tying a playoff record by starting the playoffs 7-0 on the road (last done by Colorado in 1999.)

— The Kings tying the playoff record for best record through 12 games (11-1, last done by Detroit in 1995.)

Some other records on the horizon?

— Consecutive wins in a single playoff year (11). Three teams have accomplished the feat: Chicago in 1992, Pittsburgh in 1992 and Montreal in 1993. The Kings have won eight straight.

— Brown, most shorthanded goals in one postseason (3). Six other players have accomplished the feat: Bill Barber, Wayne Gretzky, Derek Sanderson, Wayne Presley, Todd Marchant and Lorne Henning.

  1. lsxphotog - May 18, 2012 at 2:42 PM

    They’re playing disturbingly well…they are certainly firing on all cylinders every night and have the confidence of winning under their belt.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (1450)
  2. P. Kessel (1404)
  3. M. Boedker (1224)
  4. S. Matthias (1160)
  5. M. Zuccarello (1144)
  1. R. McDonagh (1137)
  2. D. Carcillo (1115)
  3. A. Ovechkin (1107)
  4. A. Ladd (1023)
  5. C. Ehrhoff (985)