Skip to content

Coyotes need more from Shane Doan in Game 3

May 17, 2012, 9:40 AM EDT

GLENDALE, AZ - APRIL 27: Shane Doan #19 of the Phoenix Coyotes warms up before Game One of the Western Conference Semifinals against the Nashville Predators during the 2012 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs at Arena on April 27, 2012 in Glendale, Arizona. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images) Getty Images

Shane Doan was not suspended for his questionable hit on Los Angeles’ Trevor Lewis during Tuesday’s contest. However, Phoenix’s Martin Hanzal was suspended and the Los Angeles Kings have a 2-0 series lead over the Coyotes.

If Phoenix wants to survive, they’ll have to find a way to beat Jonathan Quick, who shut them out in Game 2. Someone has to stand up and Phoenix Coyotes coach Dave Tippett thinks it will be Doan.

“We expect him to be better,” Tippett said of Doan. Tippett later added, “He’s our leader. He wants to come back and have a strong game. I expect him to come in and have his best game of series.”

Doan is known for being an offensive contributor as well as a physical presence. He was on a three-game point streak before he got a game misconduct and five-minute boarding major on Tuesday.

Still, Doan was held off the score sheet in five of the Coyotes’ six meetings against Los Angeles during the regular season and the Kings have been a much bigger challenge in the playoffs.

  1. jpelle82 - May 17, 2012 at 10:00 AM

    coyotes need more from everyone.

  2. comeonnowguys - May 17, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    It’s not happening. Los Angeles is a way better Phoenix than Phoenix. Better goalie, better skaters.

  3. hiltonandastoria - May 17, 2012 at 11:44 AM

    Guess what?
    I gotta fever
    And the only prescription
    Is more Shane Doan

  4. howardforvezina - May 17, 2012 at 12:39 PM

    With what dirty play? that would be typical.

  5. barroomhero80 - May 17, 2012 at 12:52 PM

    you’re not getting anything but a total meltdown and dirty play. GKG!

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (1693)
  2. P. Kessel (1656)
  3. M. Richards (1404)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1245)
  5. N. Backstrom (1130)