Skip to content

Poll: Who will win the 2012 Norris Trophy?

Apr 26, 2012, 11:23 AM EDT

Nicklas Lidstrom Norris

As mentioned earlier, the NHL has named Boston’s Zdeno Chara, Nashville’s Shea Weber and Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson as the three finalists for the James Norris Memorial Trophy.

It’s an interesting candidate list in that Chara’s won a Norris before (2009), Weber’s been nominated (2011) while Karlsson is the decided newbie of the group — this is the 21-year-old’s first-ever candidacy.

Some things to consider:

— The Norris is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

— This year will mark just the fourth time since 2001 the Norris will go to someone other than Nicklas Lidstrom.

— Chara has a chance to enter rarefied air with a second win. Only 11 defensemen in NHL history have captured multiple Norris Trophies: Lidstrom, Larry Robinson, Denis Potvin, Bobby Orr, Doug Harvey, Pierre Pilote, Chris Chelios, Rod Langway, Ray Bourque, Paul Coffey and Brian Leetch.

— FYI on Karlsson being nominated at 21 years old: In 1967-68, Orr became the youngest winner ever (20 years, three months). In 2009-10, Drew Doughty (20 years, four months) became one of the youngest nominees ever, but lost out to Duncan Keith.

— Chara is the third Bruin in franchise history to win a Norris (Orr and Bourque were the others. No Predator or Senator has ever won one.


  1. bloggersarenotjournalists - Apr 26, 2012 at 12:49 PM

    Where is Grossman?

    – Typical Flyer fan living in a bubble

  2. bloggersarenotjournalists - Apr 26, 2012 at 12:50 PM

    And Chara has no shot
    It’s going to be close between Weber and Karlsson with Weber beating him out.

  3. biasedhomer - Apr 26, 2012 at 1:34 PM

    Easily Weber, no contest.

  4. stratomaticfan - Apr 26, 2012 at 1:54 PM

    Karlsson is a crappy defenseman. It’s supposed to be for Best All Around Defenseman. Should be toss up between Chara and Weber, but Karlsson may win because he has offensive stats which can be quantified, whereas the other two are actually good defensive guys in addition to decent scorers.

  5. blues1988 - Apr 26, 2012 at 2:11 PM

    watch out for Alex Pietrangelo, if he keeps it up he’ll definitely be in the running next year! but as for this year I’d say Shea Weber, he’s just awesome.

  6. saintez - Apr 26, 2012 at 2:26 PM

    Weber in a close one…..

  7. amerika1313 - Apr 26, 2012 at 3:31 PM

    I’d love to see Chara win again, and he’d be deserving, but my gut’s telling me it’ll be Weber this year. And when will the league create the Orr Award for best offensive defenseman to alleviate the kind of criticism that having Karlsson as a nominee has brought? He’s a great player, just not the caliber of defenseman that should be getting nominated for the Norris.

    • habsman - Apr 26, 2012 at 4:05 PM

      Not a bad idea. And I agree with naming it after the only Dman to ever win the scoring title. GOAT.

  8. sabatimus - Apr 26, 2012 at 8:53 PM

    Chara has his good points, but he cannot get the puck out of his own zone to save his life.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1828)
  2. P. Kane (1515)
  3. M. Richards (1327)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1318)
  5. N. Backstrom (1184)