Skip to content

Poll: Who will win the 2012 Masterton Trophy?

Apr 24, 2012, 11:30 AM EDT

Ian Laperriere Getty Images

As mentioned earlier, the finalists for this year’s Bill Masterton Trophy — given annually to the player best exemplifying perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey — are Ottawa’s Daniel Alfredsson, Toronto’s Joffrey Lupul and Montreal’s Max Pacioretty.

Before the vote, a few things to consider:

– This award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

– The Maple Leafs are quite familiar with this trophy. Phil Kessel, Toronto’s leading scorer this season, won the Masterton in 2007 after missing 12 games because of testicular cancer mid-season. A year later, then-Leafs forward Jason Blake won the award after playing a full 82-game season following his diagnosis with chronic myelogenous leukemia.

– The last Canadien to win the award was Saku Koivu in 2001-02. Koivu overcame non-Hodgkin lymphoma to resume his captaincy duties for Montreal.

– No Senator has ever won the Masterton.

Onto the poll…

  1. kitshky - Apr 24, 2012 at 11:39 AM

    Max … has to be.

  2. govtminion - Apr 24, 2012 at 11:48 AM

    Alfredsson is pretty much the definition of ‘determination’. I can’t imagine anyone else being as worthy of the award, all due respect to the other two.

  3. geo91 - Apr 24, 2012 at 1:46 PM

    Fleishmann should be in the mix! The blood clots ruined 2 years of hockey for him!

  4. cleverbob - Apr 24, 2012 at 3:22 PM

    OMG, it should go to every player on the Flyers team!!!


  5. eigglesnosuperbowls - Apr 24, 2012 at 4:31 PM

    And the recipient of the most arrogant NHL organization award goes to,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,The Pittsburgh Penguins !

  6. drewzducks - Apr 24, 2012 at 4:52 PM

    If Maxi-pad wins isn’t big Z the first person he has to thank?

  7. areyesrn - Apr 24, 2012 at 8:29 PM

    has Ian LaPerriere finally retired, yet?

Top 10 NHL Player Searches