Skip to content

Hobey Baker “Hat Trick” finalists announced

Mar 29, 2012, 1:31 PM EDT

Hobey Baker

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation has announced the trio of forwards that will vie for this year’s trophy: Maine’s Spencer Abbott, Minnesota-Duluth’s Jack Connolly and Colgate’s Austin Smith.

The three were selected from an original list of 10 candidates released earlier this season.

Abbott, the reigning Hockey East Player of the year, was the Black Bears assistant captain and led the nation in scoring and assists. He recently signed a contract with the Toronto Maple Leafs and will join the AHL’s Marlies for the remainder of this season.

Connolly, a Hobey top ten finalist last year, captained the Bulldogs this season while also winning the WCHA scoring title and Player of the Year award. He also holds the unique distinction of never missing a collegiate game, participating in 164 consecutive contests for Minnesota-Duluth.

Smith is the most celebrated sniper of the group. He led the country in goals (36) and shorthanded tallies (six) en route to winning the ECAC scoring title. He was named conference Player of the Year and reached the 30-goal plateau fasted than any collegiate player in 12 years. Dallas’ fifth-round pick at the 2007 NHL Entry Draft, Smith recently signed an entry-level deal with the Stars and reported to AHL Texas on Tuesday.

(Image courtesy Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation)

  1. greatminnesotasportsmind - Mar 29, 2012 at 2:05 PM

    But not one will be in Tampa for the Frozen Four…

    • dallasstars9 - Mar 29, 2012 at 3:15 PM

      I’m not sure what your point is. That’s like saying Dany Heatley is not a good player just because the Wild aren’t in the playoffs………. there’s no “I” in “TEAM”

      • greatminnesotasportsmind - Mar 29, 2012 at 7:36 PM

        Dany Heatley isn’t that great of a hockey player anymore. He is no where near the 50 goal scorer he used to be. He is now more of a 25 goal guy.

      • dallasstars9 - Mar 30, 2012 at 1:28 PM

        I was just using him as an example because he is their top scorer. The point is is that just because one of these three players isn’t playing in the Frozen Four doesn’t take away what they did for their teams during the season. The REAL concern here should be WHY is the Frozen Four being played in Tampa?!?!

    • dallasstars9 - Mar 29, 2012 at 3:23 PM

      In fact, in the last 10 years only 2 teams have won the National Championship that had the Hobey Baker award winner on their team.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1669)
  2. P. Kane (1244)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1088)
  4. S. Matthias (1054)
  5. M. Giordano (954)