Skip to content

Scott Arniel was still pretty upset today

Dec 9, 2011, 4:33 PM EDT

Scott Arniel Getty Images

Columbus lost another heartbreaker last night. Leading the Predators 3-1 with less than two minutes remaining in the third period, the Blue Jackets watched Nashville score twice then win it in overtime.

And just to make matters worse, the game was in Columbus.

But hey, at least it wasn’t as bad as Oct. 22 in Ottawa when the Jackets gave up two goals in the final 36 seconds and lost 4-3 in regulation. They didn’t even get a point out of that one.

It still hurt though.

“I didn’t sleep last night,” Jackets coach Scott Arniel said today, as per the Columbus Dispatch. “I was still pissed this morning when I came into (the rink). But you have to move on.”

Columbus hosts defending champion Boston Saturday and defending Presidents’ Trophy winner Vancouver Tuesday.

If it weren’t so sad, it’d be hilarious.

  1. contraryguy - Dec 9, 2011 at 5:29 PM

    watched the last 5 mins and wondered how they’d blow a 2 goal lead in that time. The late (and suspect?) penalty opened the door for the last goal in regs but really they just looked tired and sloppy at the end. Conditioning?

    On the plus side, the fans that left early left happy.

  2. east96st - Dec 9, 2011 at 5:51 PM

    Not to worry! Mike Priest, the chief architect of this flaming bag of poo, has assured us tha realignment will help us fans. To quote:

    “For us, it will reduce travel and should lessen the wear and tear on our players over the course of the season. Instead of making four trips to the west coast each season, we will now make two. We will play 74 games in the Eastern or Central time zones, which is an increase from the 66 we play currently. While this plan is a win for our organization, it is also a big win for you, our fans.”

    Yeah, like seeing MORE Jackets games is “a big win”. If this was Guantanamo, I’d be confessing to just about anything by now to make it stop.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1902)
  2. P. Kane (1416)
  3. P. Datsyuk (1337)
  4. M. Richards (1188)
  5. M. Giordano (1167)