Oct 9, 2011, 12:20 PM EST
After just two games, Pittsburgh Penguins pest Matt Cooke was involved in another head shot. This time around, however, Cooke was the victim.
Calgary Flames defensemen Cory Sarich delivered the hit in question, which many believe qualifies as a an illegal check. Sarich accused Cooke of embellishing the impact, but the NHL shouldn’t just look the other way if something over-the-line happens but a player keeps playing regular shifts.
In fact, considering the way teams are treating “The Quiet Room” like a kind suggestion rather than a hard rule, Cooke’s reaction shouldn’t stop the league from looking at the hit. (If it feels that the check went over the line, of course.)
It’s still relatively early on this Sunday of light action, so it’s possible that Brendan Shanahan will look this over. At this point, there’s no official word regarding any discipline toward Sarich.
Whether you think it’s karma in action or not, an illegal hit is an illegal hit. What do you think, though? Did Sarich make Cooke’s head the principal point of contact? Let us know in the comments.
- Team Canada crushes Slovakia 2
- Criticism spreads to GM Lou Lamoriello after Devils fire DeBoer 2
- Eichel earns assist and scores in shootout as U.S. squeaks by Finland 1
- Canada enters World Juniors as 11/10 favorite; USA next at 9/4 2
- Devils fire DeBoer 20
- More mumps: Downie and Greiss test positive 3
- Orpik reflects on ‘outside pressure’ in Pittsburgh 18
- Canada tabs Fucale for WJC opener 0
- PHT’s top 14 of ’14: Ovechkin’s great big year of disappointment 10
- PHT’s top 14 of ’14: Kings win Cup, Martinez the OT hero 0
- Sabres aren’t happy with league’s decision regarding Bartkowski (76)
- Report: NHL won’t hold hearing for Bartkowski hit (55)
- Video: Bartkowski delivers controversial hit to Gionta, fights Foligno (47)
- Could Malkin be the next player to be fined for diving? (43)
- Panthers hold off Penguins for shootout win (42)